Playing cards at the beginning of M/H-phase

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

In a game yesterday my opponent moved two companies. When the M/H-phase for company one was finished he started with company two. Before he flipped over the new site card, however, he wanted to play Voices of Malice. Is this possible? If so, may I respond to this play wit Many Sorrows?
I always thought that the first action in a company´s M/H-phase is to reveal the new site card (if they move) but cannot find a quote for this.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CRF, Turn Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, General wrote:Annotation 25a: A company's movement/hazard phase is concluded when a moving
company removes its site of origin and both players agree to reconcile (discard down
to/draw up to) their hand sizes. No resources (and obviously no hazards) can be
played, and no resource effects can be activated, until the site phase or until both
players have drawn cards for the movement of a following company.

Annotation 25b: Players drawing cards when a new site is revealed is synonymous
with the resolution of the new site being revealed. It happens immediately, not in the
following chain of effects.
Underline mine.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Balin
Ex Council Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Madrid
Contact:

Good to know, because some players at GCCG try to play Many Sorrows on A Short Rest "in response" to the new site being revealed :shock: in order to don't allow the extra card drawing.

you cheezies.. :P
__

Let them come! There is one dwarf yet in Moria that still draws breath!
Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

Reach of Ulmo is the only one! :)
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Ah, there is the quote I was looking for. Thanks, Konrad.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”