Search found 41 matches

by Zakath
Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:50 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Facing Auto Attack repeatedly in a turn?
Replies: 9
Views: 4681

Re: Facing Auto Attack repeatedly in a turn?

Except we know that companies were never intended to have to face automatic attacks more than once per turn (Tidings of Bold Spies aside). It's not like multiple-resource-per-turn deck strategies are something new. They've been around literally as long as this game has. There was ample opportunity t...
by Zakath
Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:37 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions
Replies: 82
Views: 13235

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

This is another example of ICE's super-sloppy wording. It's my opinion that this card was intended to do only two things: allow FW access to 6 mind characters, and/or allow the play of agents at Wizardhavens instead of only at their home site. All other requirements for such a character needed to be...
by Zakath
Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: (Easy way of) killing of Spider of the Môrlat (?)
Replies: 38
Views: 13311

Re: (Easy way of) killing of Spider of the Môrlat (?)

My opinion - which is based on almost 20 years playing experiance on a high tournament level - is that you receive “kill” MP only by defeating either a hazard creature or a hazard event card that is not also a creature and has an associated attack while played as an event and has a MP value in the ...
by Zakath
Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Non-RW Company (ex. Heedless)
Replies: 7
Views: 3445

Re: Non-RW Company (ex. Heedless)

But in the good ole URD they have: » A Ringwraith company may not use region movement. » A company with the Balrog in it may not use region movement. Maybe that can be cleaned up in the revised URD, because in my opinion the line about the Balrog is unnecessary - and as we see here, is causing conf...
by Zakath
Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:07 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Bring Our Curses Home + Ahunts
Replies: 24
Views: 4119

Re: Bring Our Curses Home + Ahunts

Perhaps this should be split off into its own post? It's gone kind of meta - more about the rule-making process than about Bring Our Curses Home. Any references to NetRep rulings made in errata could make an impression that NetRep rulings are "first class citizen" statements i.e. that they should be...
by Zakath
Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:01 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Bring Our Curses Home + Ahunts
Replies: 24
Views: 4119

Re: Bring Our Curses Home + Ahunts

NetRep rulings are not "first class citizen" statements in the game. They are interpretation of rules. Wrong decision of judge in football match does not need and should not be corrected at the level of rules of football. Konrad, this might be how you personally feel (and might be a true statement)...
by Zakath
Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:08 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill
Replies: 13
Views: 1942

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

CDavis, the reason I had that digest ready to recall when I saw this topic is I went digging for a ruling on short-events to understand how to interpret the minion resource Come By Night Upon Them, as I was considering including it in a deck. It is another one that doesn't have any text expressing h...
by Zakath
Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:24 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill
Replies: 13
Views: 1942

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Also with an earlier digest, #31 : If a short event's text doesn't indicate a duration for its effect, the effect lasts until the end of the turn It seems like there was an understanding once that short-events inherently did not last beyond the current turn. Perhaps a new, official clarification to ...
by Zakath
Sat Mar 02, 2019 7:11 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: WITHDRAWN - Face Out of Sight
Replies: 31
Views: 3967

Re: Face Out of Sight

The Under-roads is a short-event, so there is every reason to expect discarding to occur only when the card resolves. Check again. The Under-roads is a long-event. This is wrong in the spoiler list hosted by CoE. My apologies. No worries. Curious, though. The spoilers that the Dutch site hosts on m...
by Zakath
Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:23 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play
Replies: 13
Views: 3393

Re: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play

Yeah, I think that works. I think I would still prefer 'period of time' but that's just because it makes the sentence sound more natural to me for some reason. I think the meaning is clear enough.
by Zakath
Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:09 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Bow of Alatar
Replies: 57
Views: 6251

Re: Bow of Alatar

My own opinion is that ICE never meant for any card or effect to change who actually faces a strike after the strike assignment portion of resolving an attack was complete. All such cards work perfectly fine if you have to sort out any special restrictions or abilities on who faces strikes before mo...
by Zakath
Thu Feb 28, 2019 3:10 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: WITHDRAWN - Face Out of Sight
Replies: 31
Views: 3967

Re: Face Out of Sight

The Under-roads is a short-event, so there is every reason to expect discarding to occur only when the card resolves. Check again. The Under-roads is a long-event. For the same reason for which Burning Rick, Cot, and Tree does not discard factions continuously (or does it discard them continuously?...
by Zakath
Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:35 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Bow of Alatar
Replies: 57
Views: 6251

Re: Bow of Alatar

Not necessarily. The opponent could still choose two other characters. At that point, who decides which strike Alatar faces? Does the "Attacker chooses defending characters" take precedence or does "Regardless of the attack's normal capabilities" take precedence? I think you can look to Alatar's ow...
by Zakath
Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:04 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Bow of Alatar
Replies: 57
Views: 6251

Re: Bow of Alatar

What I think this all boils down to is whether the Bow of Alatar affects an attack, or affects a strike. Perhaps that is what a vote needs to be held on. If it affects a strike, the Bow could be tapped at the start of any strike sequence. If the Bow affects an attack, then it needs to be tapped pri...
by Zakath
Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play
Replies: 13
Views: 3393

Re: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play

Maybe it would be clearer if we just made it more verbose? I.e. one thing I'm tripping over is using the word 'period' without an 'of what' coming after it. If an effect of a card that does not remain in play after resolution (i.e. a hazard creature or a short-event) establishes that for a specific ...

Go to advanced search