Search found 105 matches
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:41 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q7 - Doubled Vigilance
- Replies: 0
- Views: 34
CoE Digest #210 Q7 - Doubled Vigilance
What can the resource player do against a Doubled Vigilance that is revealed on-guard? Although the original text of Doubled Vigilance didn’t allow it to be revealed on-guard per the normal game rules, ICE’s NetRep confirmed that the intention was that it could be revealed in this way, which was ad...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:34 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q6 - Promptings of Wisdom
- Replies: 0
- Views: 25
CoE Digest #210 Q6 - Promptings of Wisdom
What happens if Faces of the Dead or Seized by Terror is played on a character with Promptings of Wisdom? There is an overriding concept in MeCCG that if one or more of a card's effects are unable to resolve during the resolution of a chain of effects, those effects are not resolved but the rest of...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:31 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q5 - Radagast's Black Bird
- Replies: 1
- Views: 33
CoE Digest #210 Q5 - Radagast's Black Bird
Can Radagast's Black Bird be played even if Radagast is tapped or wounded? There has been some contention over the years as to whether Radagast’s Black Bird can be played if Radagast himself is tapped or wounded. Here is the card text for reference: Unique. Radagast specific. Playable at one of you...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:28 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q4 - Nazgul automatic-attacks
- Replies: 0
- Views: 35
CoE Digest #210 Q4 - Nazgul automatic-attacks
Are Nazgûl automatic-attacks detainment? Whether or not a Nazgûl attack counts as detainment can be determined by referencing the Council of Elrond official game rules: 3.II.4 A Nazgûl attack against a minion company is detainment, unless the attack is an automatic-attack (in which case the Nazgûl ...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:26 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q3 - Removing the limit on how many characters can be played
- Replies: 2
- Views: 64
CoE Digest #210 Q3 - Removing the limit on how many characters can be played
If I play a card that removes the limit on how many characters I can play (such as Sauron or An Unexpected Party), can I also reveal my avatar or discard a character during the same Organization Phase? Cards like Sauron or An Unexpected Party remove the normal limit on playing one character per Org...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:21 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q2 - An Untimely Brood
- Replies: 1
- Views: 30
CoE Digest #210 Q2 - An Untimely Brood
How many allies can be played with An Untimely Brood each turn? For reference, this is the original text of An Untimely Brood : Playable if you are Radagast or Alatar and have 6 or more stage points and a protected Wizardhaven. One non-unique ally with a mind of 1 is playable at one of your tapped ...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:19 pm
- Forum: Drafts
- Topic: CoE Digest #210 Q1 - "For rest of the turn" effects during Free Council
- Replies: 0
- Views: 31
CoE Digest #210 Q1 - "For rest of the turn" effects during Free Council
Can I play “for the rest of the turn” effects like First Of The Order during the Free Council? The Free Council (or generally the End-of-Game portion of the game) doesn’t take place during a turn, meaning that there isn’t a resource player nor hazard player during the steps required to determine a ...
- Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:14 pm
- Forum: Rulings Digests
- Topic: New system for answering rules questions
- Replies: 7
- Views: 2430
Re: New system for answering rules questions
Hi all! As the current Rules Committee begins to issue new digests, please note that Manuel's system for digest "drafts" as described above will still be in effect, i.e.: 1) The thread will be open for 2 weeks. 2) There will be a maximum of one reply per forum user, and that reply cannot b...
- Thu Jun 26, 2025 3:35 pm
- Forum: Council Business
- Topic: Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes - June 22, 2025
- Replies: 0
- Views: 55
Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes - June 22, 2025
Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes June 22, 2025 Present: Bruno (Bruce), Ethan (DamienX207), Felipe (fisilva1), Marc (sarma72), Ralph (Goblin King) Not present: Alvaro (Mordakai), Miguel (Siraynad) 1. Welcome! 2. Review of agenda 3. Committee reports and tasks a. Rules Committee – Ethan (organizer),...
- Wed Apr 16, 2025 4:30 pm
- Forum: Council Business
- Topic: Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes - April 13, 2025
- Replies: 0
- Views: 270
Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes - April 13, 2025
Council of Elrond Meeting Minutes April 13, 2025 Present: Alvaro (Mordakai), Bruno (Bruce), Ethan (DamienX207), Felipe (fisilva1), Marc (sarma72), Miguel (Siraynad), Ralph (Goblin King) 1. Welcome! 2. Review of agenda 3. Committee reports a. Rules Committee – Ethan (organizer), Bruno, Felipe, Migue...
- Thu Apr 03, 2025 10:21 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
- Topic: First of the Order
- Replies: 12
- Views: 3125
Re: First of the Order
Since FotO would directly affect Saruman's corruption check during the first step after the game has been called and doesn't have any active conditions other than Saruman being in play, it would be playable on Saruman at that point (similar to Magical Harp). You just couldn't get its effect during y...
- Thu Apr 03, 2025 3:06 am
- Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
- Topic: First of the Order
- Replies: 12
- Views: 3125
Re: First of the Order
I have been answering Darksatin's question in terms of the Council of Elrond tournament rules based on the historical literature, as with all due respect I prefer to not get dragged into arguments about personal interpretations that ignore CoE rules ad nauseum (just noting that there IS a rule about...
- Wed Apr 02, 2025 8:29 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
- Topic: First of the Order
- Replies: 12
- Views: 3125
Re: First of the Order
I think that the effects that state "until end of (the) turn" would be OK. They would be active infinitely. When the turn ends, the effect ends, literally based on the English text as well as ICE's NetRep ruling. There's no reason nor evidence that the short-event's effects would be activ...
- Wed Apr 02, 2025 6:30 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
- Topic: First of the Order
- Replies: 12
- Views: 3125
Re: First of the Order
Do the +2 is effective during the Free Council ? No, once the current turn ends, the effects of FotO (and other short-events) go away. For further citation, this was confirmed by ICE's NetRep on 10/7/96. The fact that actions that would reduce a character’s corruption point total or prevent a chara...
- Thu Feb 20, 2025 3:44 pm
- Forum: Official Game Rules
- Topic: 2-19-2025 - Clarification to character limit (and lack thereof) for sideboard
- Replies: 0
- Views: 834
2-19-2025 - Clarification to character limit (and lack thereof) for sideboard
An eagle-eyed questioner noticed a typo in the CoE rules document about the character draft (Rule 1.9), which previously suggested that leftover/duplicated characters from the draft could only be shuffled into the play deck if they didn't exceed the 10 non-avatar character limit of the "combine...