Search found 33 matches

by SuperNovice
Sun Jan 12, 2025 10:35 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

I don't think you can summarily dismiss it this quickly. All four cards I called out take the same form: "Do x modified by y" where y is a function of the distance from start to finish. X can be different (and no one is debating that they aren't) but I fail to see why the process for count...
by SuperNovice
Sat Jan 11, 2025 5:38 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: The Witch-king
Replies: 8
Views: 1270

Re: The Witch-king

To lend support to Konrad's argument -- every ability to play RW Followers in MELE set (Witch-King, Khamul, They Ride Together) specifies that the follower is to be played in the organization phase. There would be no need to do this if RW follower play followed the rules for bringing a character in...
by SuperNovice
Sat Jan 11, 2025 5:35 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

Caverns Unchoked Crack in the Wall Gnawed Ways Secret Entrance But you're asking the wrong question. The real question is whether being unable to apply a modifier invalidates an entire card, and the answer is clearly no. Those are not representative examples as they do not use regions in the resolu...
by SuperNovice
Sat Jan 11, 2025 12:53 am
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

A bit late to this party, but: 1. If Pallando is at an Under-deeps site, there are no regions between him and the site, so the number of regions subtracted is zero. Likewise, if Pallando attempts to influence a character at an Under-deeps site through the use of this card, zero would also be subtra...
by SuperNovice
Tue Nov 26, 2024 9:04 am
Forum: Drafts
Topic: Draft of CoE Digest #208 Q5 - Troll Bros and WHCTK - Open until Dec 16th
Replies: 2
Views: 684

Re: Draft of CoE Digest #208 Q5 - Troll Bros and WHCTK - Open until Dec 16th

No disagreements. Just providing reference to a prior ruling to backup the position that you can play 1, 2, or all 3 in the same turn. ICE Rules Digest #23 from Ichabod: 2. If that is the case, you need minimum 8 GI free. But that’s not all. You can only play one character per site per turn... so yo...
by SuperNovice
Tue Nov 26, 2024 8:29 am
Forum: Drafts
Topic: Draft of CoE Digest #208 Q2 - Beorning skin-changers played as a short-event for no effect - Open until Dec 16th
Replies: 2
Views: 534

Re: Draft of CoE Digest #208 Q2 - Beorning skin-changers played as a short-event for no effect - Open until Dec 16th

I would suggest that we consider other conditional short-events when looking at this ruling as well. To be consistent, the definition of "later" must be "after the card resolves" in all cases. In essence, this ruling creates a standard whereby the validity of a short-event is che...
by SuperNovice
Fri Oct 04, 2024 5:02 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

I agree with Mordakai here. Underdeep sites are not located in any region so counting is not possible. The text of Hour of Need explicitly anticipates this question by stating that you cannot use it if your influencing character is at an underdeep site. Regrettably this is not written in Prophet of...
by SuperNovice
Fri Oct 04, 2024 4:35 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

"You cannot determine what the modifier is and, hence, cannot complete the instructions on the card." I can. Does not exist. Make errata, do not stretch a logic. Original texts of Gwaihir, Eagle-mounts do not prevent them from allowing for special movement to/from under-deeps. There's no ...
by SuperNovice
Fri Oct 04, 2024 1:16 am
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

What if there is nothing to subtract? What makes a check impossible is absence of value to which the result of roll is compared, not a lack of modifier. In the rules digest, the explicit question was, "can this card be played given that an Underdeeps site has no region?" The answer confir...
by SuperNovice
Thu Oct 03, 2024 9:43 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Prophet of Doom
Replies: 37
Views: 3726

Re: Prophet of Doom

Question 1 I don't believe you can influence using Prophet of Doom from the Underdeeps. Underdeeps sites do not have regions so there is no way to count the number of regions between the starting site (which has no region) and the site where the card could be played. A similar question came up for ...
by SuperNovice
Tue Oct 01, 2024 1:06 am
Forum: Decks, Strategy, Tips, Ideas
Topic: Playing Against Minion - Strategic Highlights
Replies: 20
Views: 5116

Re: Playing Against Minion - Strategic Highlights

Theo wrote: Fri Aug 16, 2024 8:58 pm Adding a note about Sudden Call, since I find every time I play minion when I haven't for a while I forget about it. :oops:
It took me a disturbingly long time to realize that you only need to put one Sudden Call in your sideboard then bring it into your deck when you get down to 10 cards or so.
by SuperNovice
Mon Sep 30, 2024 7:34 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Dark Tryst and cancellers
Replies: 7
Views: 1003

Re: Dark Tryst and cancellers

I don't know why you're arguing with a quote directly from the Rules Digest but this has been a theme recently. I quoted directly from Ichabod's ruling that illustrated that you cannot interrupt a chain of events once it starts resolving. You can resolve the chain then respond to start a new chain b...
by SuperNovice
Mon Sep 30, 2024 5:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Dark Tryst and cancellers
Replies: 7
Views: 1003

Re: Dark Tryst and cancellers

This does raise a question that I'm not clear on. Can you interrupt the resolution of a chain of events? You can't interrupt a card but consider the following: Hazard player (HP): Play Cave-drake Resource player (RP): Responds with Gates of Morning HP: Plays Twilight, targeting the Gates of Morning...
by SuperNovice
Mon Aug 12, 2024 10:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)
Topic: Some thoughts about Hazard Limit
Replies: 11
Views: 1044

Re: Some thoughts about Hazard Limit

To bring this back to the original question, I do believe the hazard limit would be 9 based on my earlier logic. I thought it might be 10 but, thinking further, I do believe the correct hazard limit would be 9. As for the conversation about "continuous effects", there's not really anything...

Go to advanced search