Search found 2916 matches

by Bandobras Took
Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:49 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Declare putting chosen card in your hand (targeting of chosen card is not active conditions). An action that requires a target is considered to have the active condition that the target be in play when the action is declared and when it is resolved. An action may not be declared if its target is no...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Oct 03, 2019 12:46 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

That would be an implication of such, yes. Doesn't seem too bad for a four-card combo that removes one of the cards from the game. The alternative, that each of these is declared as its own action, results in the following: 1) Declare Corruption Check. 2) Declare shuffling. 3) Declare putting curren...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:52 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

I believe the "and" there indicates the two are considered a single action. This is in contrast to Thrall. If Thrall stated, "Play X and place this card with X," I would be more inclined to consider it a single action, and therefore for it to be impossible to place multiples with one character. I se...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:44 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 969

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

Which statement is not supported by the rules? And what rule contradicts that statement? To regurgitate, ad nauseam: the rules define meeting active conditions to not be an action. The rules also tell us that cards which affect an entire class of things do not target, and list Wake of War as exampl...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:39 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 969

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

Every statement below has support in the rules.
Repeating this doesn't make it true.
by Bandobras Took
Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:35 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

@ Theo: Not quite. I believe that an action that is impossible to take without a previous action, both of which are declared and resolved after the card is already in play, constitute a passive condition.
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:14 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Open to the Summons
Replies: 33
Views: 3483

Re: Open to the Summons

@ Konrad: I'm not quite sure what argument you're making. It would still need to be determined whether Bounty is creating a possibility or modifying an existing one. (Of course, the site phase requirement on the event itself makes it somewhat moot in this particular case.)
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 30, 2019 1:58 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

If I put on my shoes and then I go outside, it does not mean that putting on my shoes caused me to go outside. Thrall tells you to go outside once you put on shoes. There's no other way to go outside using Thrall. Modifying an attribute of an entity is an action that targets the entity. No, it isn'...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Sep 28, 2019 9:32 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

*What* -1 mind action? Clarification: For emphasis, a value used during play is often provided both in a card's text and in another place on the same card. For example, a character's corruption check modifier is stated both in the text and the lower right corner of the character's card. On another n...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Sep 28, 2019 1:58 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

There is no condition for the placing action; it is simply structurally directed by the card to follow the play action. Which just happens to be the definition of a passive condition: An action that causes another action to take effect. A passive condition causes an action to happen as stated on a ...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:22 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 969

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

So according to you, things the rules says aren't actions are actions, examples of things that don't target do target, when a card states that it's playable on a Sage at an untapped site, what it really means is that it's playable on a character, and when a card states that it's playable on a moving...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:09 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 969

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

A Sage at an untapped site is the target. The rules that you have explained are imaginary. The ones that are actually written are that meeting active conditions are not actions and that cards may be affected without being targeted. The particular target of Far-sight is a Sage at an untapped site. If...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:47 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

So there doesn't need to be a printed triggering connection after all, it seems. A card may supply the possibility of an action that triggers its own passive condition, in which case, Thrall only has a single action that may be performed at will. You can't place Thrall unless you have used its abili...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:18 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 969

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

Any interpretation that relies on claiming that things are what the rules say they are not and that things do what the rules say they don't is inconsistent with ICE, given that ICE wrote the rules.
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:29 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 4194

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

There are a handful of other cards that also let the player take some action without an active or passive condition, but they are the exceptions and do not create a rule. But they do create a precedent. Therefore, we include Thrall among this group. You are missing the context of these 2 statements...

Go to advanced search