Search found 705 matches

by miguel
Sat May 23, 2020 2:02 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules
Replies: 245
Views: 20831

Re: Non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings

7. However, the rules don't indicate that Allies count as characters for purposes of awarding CvCC Kill MP. I don't understand where you are coming from here. ICE 80 is clearly WRONG about "the exact rule"---if that was the limit of allies counting, allies couldn't be wounded or eliminated. Theo is...
by miguel
Thu May 21, 2020 9:28 am
Forum: Decks, Strategy, Tips, Ideas
Topic: Simplified Timing Rules (Active & Passive Conditions)
Replies: 31
Views: 5286

Re: Simplified Timing Rules (Active & Passive Conditions)

Yes. This is based on the rules mentioned in the title: the timing rules (MELE p. 50 and 69) and the rules on passive conditions (METW Companion, p. 49). Sure, but to my knowledge METW (or MELE) Companion is not readily available for people to read. Would be nice to have at least the relevant quote...
by miguel
Thu May 21, 2020 9:23 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Potential Carambor Fix
Replies: 86
Views: 31033

Re: Potential Carambor Fix

Gee Miguel, I'm just teaching you the rules of this game. No need to get upset. Everyone knows the rules are difficult. No one would fault you for having played them wrong. When you are wrong, you are not teaching anyone anything. You are only muddying the waters, which is very bad because the rule...
by miguel
Thu May 21, 2020 8:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

That post was a long time ago (Mon Oct 21, 2019) and I understand the rules better since and I've changed my mind. I'm open to changing my mind and there are many things I've changed my mind on over 12 months. You could have understood that I already changed my mind by reading my recent posts (May ...
by miguel
Tue May 19, 2020 11:50 am
Forum: Decks, Strategy, Tips, Ideas
Topic: Simplified Timing Rules (Active & Passive Conditions)
Replies: 31
Views: 5286

Re: Simplified Timing Rules (Active & Passive Conditions)

Removing the sage skill is an action that modifies an attribute of a card, just like how +1 prowess, +5 Direct Influence, or +1 corruption point are actions modifying card attributes. Modifying an attribute of a card requires targeting. ... removing the sage skill would need to wait for the followi...
by miguel
Tue May 19, 2020 11:39 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Potential Carambor Fix
Replies: 86
Views: 31033

Re: Potential Carambor Fix

And really, The Wizards era rules might not be the best place to start splitting hairs. You are mistaken again. My position doesn't depend on rules from The Wizards. ...sections of the Starter/Standard rules on playing new sites and moving (see p.48 of the METW Companion ). Then I guess quote somet...
by miguel
Tue May 19, 2020 10:31 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

I've read over 4,000 pages of ICE rulings. From doing that I understand the rulings and the logic behind them, how they have been applied, how they changed over time, and how they would be applied, including Annotation 25a. It's not a special ability, it's reading comprehension. You could do it too...
by miguel
Mon May 18, 2020 7:30 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Potential Carambor Fix
Replies: 86
Views: 31033

Re: Potential Carambor Fix

Yeah, I don't think so. To me ICE clearly used revealing of the new site to mean declaration and resolution of the new site . If the site card is face down, part of that declaration is turning it over. Otherwise everything that happens according to the rules when a site is revealed would happen only...
by miguel
Sun May 17, 2020 10:15 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

Underline is mine. Technically, Annotation 25a would prevent Gates of Morning from resolving. The issue is that Annotation 25a was not intended to do that and there is no reason why it should. If ICE were asked they would say as much. The rule could be better written but the intention is clear. ICE ...
by miguel
Sun May 17, 2020 10:05 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Potential Carambor Fix
Replies: 86
Views: 31033

Re: Potential Carambor Fix

Whether a player's actions are poor etiquette or not is determined by balancing how reasonable and necessary those actions are compared to how rude it is to prevent another player from taking their turn after they traveled for hours and booked accommodations to play in a tournament. That means you'...
by miguel
Sat May 09, 2020 9:26 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

I suppose actions declared from hazards triggered by passive conditions could theoretically still resolve within the same chain after sending the company back, between movement/hazard phases as long as otherwise legal, and even trigger during the chain that returns the company to its site of origin ...
by miguel
Sat May 09, 2020 8:22 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

Yes, I'm trying to put things in exact game terms because ICE failed to do so. From what I can tell, an ongoing movement/hazard phase should be considered an active condition for playing hazards / activating hazard effects . This would get checked at both declaration and resolution, resulting in all...
by miguel
Fri May 08, 2020 4:38 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

Annotation 25a specifically prohibits the play of resources and hazards (and the activation of resource effects) at the time in question. However, playing a card (the process of bringing it from your hand into play) is not the same as resolving. I'm not saying the unresolved hazards should necessari...
by miguel
Thu May 07, 2020 3:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin
Replies: 54
Views: 7095

Re: Alone and Unadvised AND Returning to a site of origin

The end of the movement phase still happens, it just happens at resolution of the return to origin effect because that effect removes the new site, which is similar to removing the old site, which ends the phase. Thereby removing the hazard limit , fizzling all other declared hazards. Just for refe...
by miguel
Thu May 07, 2020 12:12 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Foolish Words on-guard on a character played through WHCtK/ACM
Replies: 9
Views: 1014

Re: Foolish Words on-guard on a character played through WHCtK/ACM

I spoke with panotxa last night and this thread was posted in this section by mistake. If a mod reads this, feel free to move this thread to the Rules Questions section. Thanks! :) As for the card text of Foolish Words , I can see the issue. I do think it's best to just follow the general guideline...

Go to advanced search