Search found 767 matches

by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:26 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Univeral Rules Document
Replies: 90
Views: 49475

Re: Univeral Rules Document

3. Even if in M/H phase a target character was facing a Spider attack it was not the same Spider attack as faced in site phase. In other words: in M/H phase it was not possible to play Flies and Spiders on any character facing a Spider attack in site phase. The target of the card is the character, ...
by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:12 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Univeral Rules Document
Replies: 90
Views: 49475

Re: Univeral Rules Document

No. Being taken prisoner is in result of combat. It is not valid reason to forbid revealing "Prisoner-taking cards which state they are playable on a character facing an attack/strike", nor Prisoner-taking cards at all. Where are you quoting from? Taking a prisoner is not a result of combat, it is ...
by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Allies using Resources
Replies: 39
Views: 4538

Re: Allies using Resources

Definition of purpose 1 a : something set up as an object or end to be attained : intention    b : resolution, determination 2 : a subject under discussion or an action in course of execution Without further specificity, I think we should assume purposes of combat encompasses both of our interpreta...
by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:44 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Univeral Rules Document
Replies: 90
Views: 49475

Re: Univeral Rules Document

During the site phase, you may attempt to influence away one of your opponent’s characters if the following apply: 1. You have not made an influence attempt against your opponent or attacked your opponent with a company this turn; 2. It is not your first turn; 3. It is not the turn your played your...
by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:16 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Univeral Rules Document
Replies: 90
Views: 49475

Re: Univeral Rules Document

• Prisoner-taking cards which state they are playable on a character facing an attack/strike are not able to be revealed on-guard because the target did not exist during the Movement/Hazard Phase [CoE 56]. 1) I believe this is actually from CoE 57 . 2) It was only referencing Flies and Spiders. 3) ...
by Theo
Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Allies using Resources
Replies: 39
Views: 4538

Re: Allies using Resources

Backing up a bit, Assigning Strikes is a purpose of combat. Right. But making unable to be assigned a strike is not the same as assigning a strike. Similarly a making an entity priority target of a strike of an attack (as it does One Foe to Breed a War) is not the same as assigning a strike. I do no...
by Theo
Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:24 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unique Short Events
Replies: 36
Views: 4933

Re: Unique Short Events

I'm on board with Konrad in there being a distinction between removed from play (including all eliminated characters) and removed from the game. Something that is removed from the game should have no further affect on the game, while the out-of-play pile still affects uniqueness. There is no removed...
by Theo
Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:33 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Univeral Rules Document
Replies: 90
Views: 49475

Re: Univeral Rules Document

Another potential slip: "You may reveal an agent at any time; this does not count against the hazard limit." In the original MEWH rules, revealing was restricted to opponents' movement/hazard phases. Also the URD does not specify what to do with the sites if an agent is revealed and has illegal move...
by Theo
Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:02 am
Forum: Odds, Ends & Hobbit Holes
Topic: Introduce yourself
Replies: 117
Views: 57561

Re: Introduce yourself

Hey, I finally found my way down this far in the forum listing! I always liked Tolkien's lore and that the power dynamics of his world felt as much philosophical/persuasive as martial, so I was quite excited about MECCG when The Wizards first came out. Fantastic design fit. But back then it was toug...
by Theo
Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:52 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Noob: &River, why?
Replies: 2
Views: 3866

Re: Noob: &River, why?

Bandobras Took wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:26 pm
You think that's bad, it applies even if the company got there by flying.
No problem: there is a concept of an atmospheric river. I'd think that while flying it would be even easier to get turned around in the wrong direction! ;)
by Theo
Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:56 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Newbie Q&A : choosing no movement at current site
Replies: 2
Views: 648

Re: Newbie Q&A : choosing no movement at current site

After facing automatic attacks, the full rules additionally allow the option of making an influence attempt against an opponent's characters/items/allies/factions, or initiating company-vs-company combat depending on the opponent.
by Theo
Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:15 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Röac the Raven
Replies: 18
Views: 2591

Re: Röac the Raven

@Theo: An Active Condition is a requirement that must be met in order to declare an action. Such a thing must be established when an action is declared, and must still be the case when the action resolves, else the action fizzles. This is unfortunately one of the largest areas where ICE was none to...
by Theo
Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:13 am
Forum: Town Hall
Topic: New Charter Revision - 2018
Replies: 25
Views: 9715

Re: New Charter Revision - 2018

I'm not sure what you are referencing with Great Secrets Buried There. There hasn't been an active NetRep in quite some time, so no new ruling clarifications have been made. Can you provide a link please? Oh, I just meant it was on my mind recently, not that the clarification was recent. I found th...
by Theo
Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:48 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Multiplayer rules
Replies: 1
Views: 645

Re: Multiplayer rules

No comments from all the crazy collectors? I think the MELE rules are poor. My changes: * only 2/5 hazard must be creatures (instead of 1/2... anyone know where that came from?) * hazard draw is split between opponents, cycling backward through resource turn order * hazard play is allowed by all opp...
by Theo
Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Röac the Raven
Replies: 18
Views: 2591

Re: Röac the Raven

Current rulings say discarding the Wizard is an active condition of the card Could you clarify what you mean by "active condition of the card"? Something like "the card has no effect unless this is done"? But I think I get your implication that all of the card needs to be interpreted before any of ...

Go to advanced search