Search found 2917 matches
- Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:29 am
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
There are a handful of other cards that also let the player take some action without an active or passive condition, but they are the exceptions and do not create a rule. But they do create a precedent. Therefore, we include Thrall among this group. You are missing the context of these 2 statements...
- Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:39 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
You misunderstand. The idea that you have to declare an action that a card says you "may" take when you play the card is false. The card gives you the capacity to declare that action whenever you choose, within its own guidelines. As a refresher: https://councilofelrond.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=145...
- Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:32 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
- Replies: 44
- Views: 10109
Re: Old to the game and have some questions
The specific example to which I was responding is as follows: Discarding Card_B is a typical active condition for some other Action_A of Card_A. If you can't choose Card_B for the discarding action to be played out through (i.e., target Card_B), how would Card_B ever be discarded? Discarding Card_B ...
- Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:43 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Still, no passive condition is created or needed for Thrall because when Thrall is played the Thrall-placing action and character-playing action are immediately declared and they will resolve one after the other. So the character for the Thrall to be placed on is already established by the playing ...
- Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:40 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
- Replies: 44
- Views: 10109
Re: Old to the game and have some questions
Meeting active conditions and exhausting a play deck are not actions -- they are declared and resolve immediately. When the rules state that a couple of activities in the game are not actions, that does, in fact, mean they are not actions. It does not mean that they are. It means they are not. They...
- Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:58 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
- Replies: 277
- Views: 69872
Re: New to the game and have some questions.
Annotation 6: If an action requires an entity to be discarded as a condition for the action's main effect, that entity must be discarded when the action is declared; this is considered synonymous with the action's declaration; i.e., it is not a separate action. Annotation 7: If any other active con...
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:57 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
The game provides Passive Conditions as the mechanism for taking actions based on other actions. If playing a character was the trigger for the Thrall-placing action, then the placing action would establish the passive condition. Condition, Passive: An action that causes another action to take effe...
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:48 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
- Replies: 277
- Views: 69872
Re: New to the game and have some questions.
Brandobras, instead of picking and choosing two line out of context, go back and read "Events" (MELE p. 40, 41) "Actions and Card Play" (MELE p. 50), "Timing Rules" (MELE, p. 69), and the Glossary on Action, Declaring an Action, Resolving an Action, Chain of Effects, Targeting, Active Condition, an...
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:40 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play
- Replies: 13
- Views: 4764
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:39 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Helms of Iron, Scimitars of Steel #1
- Replies: 6
- Views: 3269
Re: Helms of Iron, Scimitars of Steel #1
I don't see how a rules method that consists of reading cards with any words you want, regardless of what's actually written on them, could possibly lead to problems.
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:37 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Yes, Thrall allows the possibility of taking a later action. When you take that specific action, you place Thrall with the character that was played. Therefore, all three copies get placed with whichever character was played using Thrall's ability. As you mentioned above, Thrall's wording does not c...
- Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:36 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
- Replies: 277
- Views: 69872
Re: New to the game and have some questions.
The difference is that active conditions do not have targets, since they are not actions, by definition. This statement is so confused. Read the rules on active conditions and targets a few times. I'm tired of the hypocrisy. By definition: Meeting active conditions and exhausting a play deck are no...
- Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:44 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Not to discard it, no, which is what you "may" do.
- Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:22 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
- Replies: 86
- Views: 22538
Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Thrall has no effect on the game without a character being played. And so it cannot be played to just sit around. This is unequivocally false. Giving a player the capacity to do something they would otherwise be unable to do is an effect on the game. See also Rumours of Rings. Actions cannot just h...
- Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:56 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Unattaped state as active condition and "tap" as main effect
- Replies: 16
- Views: 5502
Re: Unattaped state as active condition and "tap" as main effect
Yes, but I don't like nested solutions. 
