Search found 2917 matches

by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:29 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

There are a handful of other cards that also let the player take some action without an active or passive condition, but they are the exceptions and do not create a rule. But they do create a precedent. Therefore, we include Thrall among this group. You are missing the context of these 2 statements...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:39 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

You misunderstand. The idea that you have to declare an action that a card says you "may" take when you play the card is false. The card gives you the capacity to declare that action whenever you choose, within its own guidelines. As a refresher: https://councilofelrond.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=145...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 10109

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

The specific example to which I was responding is as follows: Discarding Card_B is a typical active condition for some other Action_A of Card_A. If you can't choose Card_B for the discarding action to be played out through (i.e., target Card_B), how would Card_B ever be discarded? Discarding Card_B ...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:43 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Still, no passive condition is created or needed for Thrall because when Thrall is played the Thrall-placing action and character-playing action are immediately declared and they will resolve one after the other. So the character for the Thrall to be placed on is already established by the playing ...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:40 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Old to the game and have some questions
Replies: 44
Views: 10109

Re: Old to the game and have some questions

Meeting active conditions and exhausting a play deck are not actions -- they are declared and resolve immediately. When the rules state that a couple of activities in the game are not actions, that does, in fact, mean they are not actions. It does not mean that they are. It means they are not. They...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:58 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 277
Views: 69872

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Annotation 6: If an action requires an entity to be discarded as a condition for the action's main effect, that entity must be discarded when the action is declared; this is considered synonymous with the action's declaration; i.e., it is not a separate action. Annotation 7: If any other active con...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:57 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

The game provides Passive Conditions as the mechanism for taking actions based on other actions. If playing a character was the trigger for the Thrall-placing action, then the placing action would establish the passive condition. Condition, Passive: An action that causes another action to take effe...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:48 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 277
Views: 69872

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Brandobras, instead of picking and choosing two line out of context, go back and read "Events" (MELE p. 40, 41) "Actions and Card Play" (MELE p. 50), "Timing Rules" (MELE, p. 69), and the Glossary on Action, Declaring an Action, Resolving an Action, Chain of Effects, Targeting, Active Condition, an...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:40 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play
Replies: 13
Views: 4764

Re: Order of an actions caused by effects of cards not in play

CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:35 am
The statement means:
So you agree that the current wording is insufficient and needs to be changed. Good to know.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:39 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Helms of Iron, Scimitars of Steel #1
Replies: 6
Views: 3269

Re: Helms of Iron, Scimitars of Steel #1

I don't see how a rules method that consists of reading cards with any words you want, regardless of what's actually written on them, could possibly lead to problems.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:37 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Yes, Thrall allows the possibility of taking a later action. When you take that specific action, you place Thrall with the character that was played. Therefore, all three copies get placed with whichever character was played using Thrall's ability. As you mentioned above, Thrall's wording does not c...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 277
Views: 69872

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

The difference is that active conditions do not have targets, since they are not actions, by definition. This statement is so confused. Read the rules on active conditions and targets a few times. I'm tired of the hypocrisy. By definition: Meeting active conditions and exhausting a play deck are no...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:44 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Not to discard it, no, which is what you "may" do.
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:22 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22538

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Thrall has no effect on the game without a character being played. And so it cannot be played to just sit around. This is unequivocally false. Giving a player the capacity to do something they would otherwise be unable to do is an effect on the game. See also Rumours of Rings. Actions cannot just h...

Go to advanced search