Search found 2917 matches

by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:50 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22511

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

And all Thrall does is establish an effect that you can play a character instead of a normal character. The way Thrall is worded, the effect is never "used up." A Thrall in play on a given character *still* allows the play of a character instead of the normal character, and Thrall is placed on which...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:23 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a Company is at a Site
Replies: 57
Views: 13617

Re: When a Company is at a Site

Interesting.

So Untimely Brood lets me play however many non-unique 1-mind allies I want, so long as I have the companies for them?
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:20 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22511

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

That's the point of debate. Thus, the initiative for a clarification. Instead of a normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. All three cards give the same ability. This can be used to create three separate u...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:13 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Unattaped state as active condition and "tap" as main effect
Replies: 16
Views: 5494

Re: Unattaped state as active condition and "tap" as main effect

Not to derail further but: Tap the sage and the site to search through your play deck and choose an item that you must reveal to your opponent. Tapping the sage/site are clearly active conditions of declaring the search the deck action. That means they have to tap before resolution, but Far-sight ne...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:24 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22511

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Putting aside the issue of whether or not Thrall let's you play more than 1 character a turn, a 2nd copy of Thrall cannot even be played at all unless it brings a 2nd character into play. Read the rules on playing cards and events again. Thrall cannot be played to just sit around like some permanen...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 277
Views: 69772

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

The difference is that active conditions do not have targets, since they are not actions, by definition. A card that is played on another card targets that card by rule. The argument is valid only so long as one assumes that Nenya is played on Galadriel. As I said, I think that's too much of an assu...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:41 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 277
Views: 69772

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Instead, the issue is that the play of the Nenya card itself targets Galadriel (making the targeting an active condition of the action of playing the card). Here, the phrase "Galadriel only" is the active condition for playing Nenya. You can think of " Galadriel only ", as used here, as equivalent ...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:36 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22511

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Using one Thrall to bring the character into play does not necessarily preclude using the others to bring that character into play. All three Thralls allow you to bring in an alternate character according to specific criteria. If you do so, place Thrall with the character. Thus, the suggestion of a ...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:26 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification
Replies: 86
Views: 22511

Re: Thrall of the Voice: multiple on character clarification

Thrall isn't played on a character. Thrall is a permanent event which allows you to use an alternate means of bringing a characters into play. Thrall is then placed with that character. The argument is that since the character brought into play by alternate means fulfills the condition of all three ...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:02 pm
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: RUSE
Replies: 50
Views: 17025

Re: RUSE

Unfortunately, all of those examples are of fulfilling an active condition. It is incontestable that when a character taps to fulfill an active condition, that card relies on that particular character to remain in play. Focus Palantir does not have any such mechanic. It requires the presence of a sa...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Where There's A Whip
Replies: 1
Views: 1730

Re: Where There's A Whip

I believe (1) is the intent. As you noted, the language can be read both ways. I would expect them to mention "sum of" or "total" if they had meant to add the two values for comparison.
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:47 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Riddling Talk
Replies: 30
Views: 12182

Re: Riddling Talk

"Optional Effects" include any card where fewer actions may be taken than are listed on the card, or fewer effects implemented than are listed on the card, and the player has the option to decide which.

Seems fairly simple.
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:18 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Riddling Talk
Replies: 30
Views: 12182

Re: Riddling Talk

I agree with CDavis7M. Annotation 27 describes how to handle a card that may generate one of many possible actions. A given card may, by its text, alter who gets to make the choice of which action is performed, but that choice is made at declaration.
by Bandobras Took
Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:17 am
Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Parsimony of Seclusion
Replies: 43
Views: 16068

Re: Parsimony of Seclusion

All the things that use the same language to refer to the same time happen at the same time. This is a problem. The inability to legally target cards in the discard pile, hand, or play deck is also a problem. Neither of these were intended by ICE. Adding letters and commas will only be too complicat...

Go to advanced search