Search found 2917 matches
- Mon Sep 02, 2019 1:15 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
Theo is correct. A FW player may use both hero and minion characters. However, there are some twists: All of your non-Orc/Troll characters are considered to be hero characters. So that rules out non-Orc/Trolls, and Corruption checks for an Orc or Troll character are handled as if he were a minion ch...
- Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:57 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: "make Information playable" vs "nothing is considered playable as written on site"
- Replies: 11
- Views: 5157
Re: "make Information playable" vs "nothing is considered playable as written on site"
No resources require Information as written on the site card. 3. If the site is untapped, a character in the company may attempt to play an item, ally, or faction that is "playable" at that site. Tap the character and the site. Certain resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playab...
- Sun Sep 01, 2019 12:56 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
And has come to the conclusion that: * ICE was kidding when they said that Wizards do not use RW only rules * ICE was mistaken when they decided to bullet the rules for influencing factions in MELE * RWs get to use whatever METW rules they want * ICE went out of their way to deliberately write nons...
- Sun Sep 01, 2019 12:49 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
There's only one place to find out which Standard Modifications apply. No one knew how to determine which Standard Modifications were applicable to influencing an opponent's factions until the rules for playing factions in the Balrog were printed? You're walking proof that some people still don't k...
- Sat Aug 31, 2019 10:40 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Parsimony of Seclusion
- Replies: 43
- Views: 16079
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Now we're getting in to what occurs with the cancelling of actions. 
I still think Annotation 8 should be amended to account for targeting of entities not in play.

I still think Annotation 8 should be amended to account for targeting of entities not in play.
- Sat Aug 31, 2019 8:28 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Parsimony of Seclusion
- Replies: 43
- Views: 16079
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Introducing a difference between the resolution of an action and its execution seems to be iffy; the rules make no such distinction.
Which is why I suggest that Annotation 8 be amended to account for actions that do so.You can say exactly the same about most actions that change a state of target.
- Sat Aug 31, 2019 5:38 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Parsimony of Seclusion
- Replies: 43
- Views: 16079
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
An action that requires a target is considered to have the active condition that the target be in play when the action is declared and when it is resolved. The card must be in play when the action resolves, but when the action resolves, the card is moved out of play. When it resolves, not after it ...
- Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:53 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: Parsimony of Seclusion
- Replies: 43
- Views: 16079
Re: Parsimony of Seclusion
Just a quick check: where is it written that the target of an action must be in play? Edit: never mind, found it under active conditions. Annotation 8 needs to be revised. It is impossible to bring any card to your hand from play, otherwise, because the card will not be in play when the action resol...
- Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:45 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
So, you lied through your teeth when you said you were done, and are now insisting that "Make an influence check as outlined above, with the following exceptions:" means This is an exception to the rules on playing factions. This is either falsehood or idiocy on your part, and I'm leaning toward the...
- Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:06 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
To influence an opponent's faction, you must make an influence check as outlined above . However, the following exceptions apply: · Instead of a mind attribute, the influence check uses the value usually required to bring the faction into play (as given on the faction's card). Good thing that when ...
- Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:43 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Not Allowed - Playing cards in the site phase before facing the automatic attack
- Replies: 7
- Views: 4065
Re: Not Allowed - Playing cards in the site phase before facing the automatic attack
Statements of ICE intent are wonderful. I wish we had more of them.
- Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:38 am
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
No rules specifically say not to use the standard modifications printed on the card if the influence attempt is cross-alignment. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: Influencing your opponent's resources and characters is handles just as it is in METW and MELE The influence check is modified b...
- Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:36 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
Actually, I'll simplify things immensely for you: any standard modifications for the character's race (heroes) or other factions in play (minions) This is referring to the alignment of the influencer, as it stands, without reference to any other material. Why? Because while factions may by *hero*, t...
- Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:44 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
No. I never said that a player would get a modification whether or not the faction was in play. It was merely your argument: The Digest doesn't use the word "applicable." In response to the question it says wizards use the standard modifications listed on the minion card. If I use the standard modi...
- Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:08 pm
- Forum: 2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
- Topic: WITHDRAWN - Standard Modifications (overhaul)
- Replies: 128
- Views: 39606
Re: Standard Modifications (overhaul)
So you're now taking the position that it doesn't matter whether the listed faction for the Standard Modification is in play. You have to use it, no matter what, because the Digest said so, with no reference to whether the Standard Modification is applicable. If the alignment rule you made up was co...