Search found 505 matches

by Frodo
Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:17 pm
Forum: Council Business - Agenda Items
Topic: experts as non-voting members in the COE
Replies: 20
Views: 12592

Re: experts as non-voting members in the COE

Ok, I have "wakeyed"! I'm most interested in: virtual cards arda promoting the game rules --and a new category: completely overhauling the game as we know it, i.e., a second edition :) I've given up on the Newsletter--sorry guys. It is too unsatisfying to produce those issues and run into so many pe...
by Frodo
Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:13 am
Forum: GCCG
Topic: Cards with errata
Replies: 11
Views: 4305

Re: Cards with errata

With MSE, I believe the **title font** is still incorrect on these middle-earth cards.
--frodo
by Frodo
Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:11 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Arda Minion
Replies: 49
Views: 21836

Re: Arda Minion

Hello Darksatin, I've been interested in seeing a workable Minion Arda deck for some time. My understanding is that these decks can be quite boring, though. I think one solution is to fully embrace the minion Virtual Cards from Virtual Set 1. Either go with Wolfgang's approach, and/or have each play...
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:17 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attacks "against characters" not attacks "aga
Replies: 5
Views: 1610

Thank you Konrad! This is very precise. It is actually what I suspected, but I wanted to make certain.

--Frodo
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:51 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attacks "against characters" not attacks "aga
Replies: 5
Views: 1610

Konrad, thanks for replying so quickly! I'm still confused by your response, however. Do you agree that Assassins and Slayers and Traitors do not create an attack against the "company," they create an attack against a "character"? If so, then how can a Concealment cancel any of these attacks, since ...
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 2:11 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attacks "against characters" not attacks "aga
Replies: 5
Views: 1610

Attacks "against characters" not attacks "aga

Black Arrow reduces prowess and strikes “of any one attack against bearer’s company.” May you use Black Arrow on an attack that says it is only against a character (in this case, Black Arrow’s bearer) such as Lucky Search, which says “scout must face a single-strike attack”? I think it boils down to...
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 2:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Farmer Maggot vs Indur Unleashed
Replies: 6
Views: 2047

Did any of you guys look at the COE Digest? There are already two related rulings: b) What if you use a card such as Forewarned is Forearmed or Unabated in Malice to cancel the canceling ability of Farmer Maggot? Does this cancel Farmer Maggot? *** Canceling an attack is an additional after-effect o...
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:57 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: about bounced Hidden Haven during character draft
Replies: 10
Views: 2727

The NetRep was probably thinking about how ICE used the phrase "off to the side" on numerous cards like Sacrifice of Form, Press Gang, Revealed to All Watchers, etc. Those cards are effectively removed from play, although it is true that in these examples the card set off to the side may come back i...
by Frodo
Sun Aug 23, 2009 2:06 am
Forum: Showcase
Topic: 2009 Online Virtual tourney
Replies: 7
Views: 6554

I'd really love to play!! I guess I need to see if the new update for Mac feature works or not. The last pdf version of VSet 1 is up-to-date. The best thing to do would be to check each XML against every single card in the PDF... I know that's annoying, but it should only have to be done once since ...
by Frodo
Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:41 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Flipping to Fallen Wizard
Replies: 4
Views: 6496

Good point, Eric, that you can still fulfill the FW's criteria even if he is off to the side, and thus avoid the -5 MP penalty on a final turn, even though you won't be able to place the Wizard back in play again (there should be a clarification about this in the rulebook though). Okay, here's what ...
by Frodo
Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:46 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Developing the New Card Texts
Replies: 5
Views: 6708

COMMENTS OR EDITS TO ARDA NEW CARD TEXTS Gimli: I’ve never seen your new text for him—have I? Crown of Flowers: This card is not necessary; bad Dark Enchantments like Great Need have built-in discard clauses. Here There or Yonder: I don’t see how the second paragraph of this card adds anything usefu...
by Frodo
Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:44 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Developing the New Card Texts
Replies: 5
Views: 6708

Half-texts

HALF-TEXTS I believe certain cards, instead of being entirely redone, should simply get “half-texts” where we add a white text box (not a color print) of new abilities after the original text finishes. The new abilities, of course, cannot be too long. I think this may address the “too much text, to...
by Frodo
Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:43 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Developing the New Card Texts
Replies: 5
Views: 6708

Developing the New Card Texts

In this thread we will discuss cards that have been given new texts for ARDA. New cards might include cards from the Virtual Sets or cards that have been made up just for ARDA.

--Frodo
by Frodo
Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:41 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Developing the Rules
Replies: 3
Views: 6020

NEW HOARD ITEM/SITE CARDS: Eric, here is the list I have so far. Is this correct? Durin’s Axe/Torque of Hues/Wormsbane: “Hoard item” (Joe’s Add) The Arkenstone/Book of Marzabul: “Hoard item” Shelob’s Lair: “Special: contains a hoard.” Moria: “Special: contains a hoard.” *I left Orcrist as a non-hoar...
by Frodo
Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:40 am
Forum: Arda
Topic: Developing the Rules
Replies: 3
Views: 6020

Eric, here are some questions and comment from me, in no particular oder The rules say stuff is storable during the “SITE” phase. The site phase? Was this on purpose? I think we should keep the understanding of a permanent “Safe From the Shadow” effect during the end-of-turn phase. Roving Character ...

Go to advanced search