What's the difference? Rulesbooks are in no way clear about this, but they use both terms. MELE Rulesbook doesn't have a definition for influence attempt, but it does for influence check:
So it would seem the actual dice roll is always an influence check.Influence Check: A dice roll you make when your character is attempting to influence a faction or an opponent's card. Influence checks are called for in other situations also.
Example of two very similar cards, using both terms:
Lordly Presence wrote:Diplomat only. +5 to an influence check against a faction. If the influence check is successful, draw a card.
Surely both cards modify the roll (influence check), regardless of the different wording.Gifts as Give of Old wrote:Provides +3 to an influence attempt against a faction.
Does this mean Foolish Words should affect Flatter a Foe's dice roll, even though they use different terms (emphasis is mine):
Flatter a Foe wrote:Flattery attempt. Playable on a character whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Character makes an influence check (modified by his unused direct influence and +2 if a diplomat). If successful, the attack is cancelled and the hazard limit for the character's company is decreased by two. This influnce check is successful if the result is greater than: 10 against a Dragon; 11 against Men or Drakes; 12 against Trolls, Orcs, Elves and Giants.
I think both terms actually mean the same thing, so Foolish Words should be fine.Foolish Words wrote:Playable on any character. Any riddling roll, offering attempt, or influence attempt by target character is modified by -4. If placed on-guard, it may be revealed and played when a character in the company declares such an attempt. During his organization phase, the character may tap to attempt to remove this card by making a roll (drawing a #)-if the result is greater than 7, discard this card. Cannot be duplicated on a given character.
There are some relevant rulings regarding this:
CoE Digest #13 wrote:1. I previously thought that after a Flatter a Foe (and such) any hazards could be played in response except creature cards. However, since corruption cards must start a chain of effects, wouldn't they be prohibited from responding to a Flattery attempt as well?
*** Yes, you cannot respond to a Flatter with a corruption card because corruption cards must start a chain of effects.
A corruption card revealed from on guard to interrupt a chain of effects is an exception due to the on guard rules. Flatter a Foe is a "flattery" card that also causes an influence check/attempt so it does trigger Lure of Power
5. Can you respond to Flatter a Foe during the M-H phase with a Foolish Words?
So far so good, digests were even written by different NetReps...CoE Digest #31 wrote:i want to add another question to flatter a foe.
though you are not tapping, it is still an influence attempt. if lure
of power is in play, will this card be triggered, when you are
successfully flattering a foe?
Eh? That would also mean Foolish Words has no effect. Since this is the latest ruling on the subject, it's also the current one. I don't really get the benefit of making an unclear distinction between influence check and influence attempt. I'm actually inclined to agree with the previous rulings. What do you think?CoE Digest #52 wrote:Does Flatter a Foe trigger Lure of Power?
*** No. Flatter a Foe is a Flattery Attempt, not an influence attempt.