question about Khamul Unleashed V

Locked
Leon
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

question about Khamul Unleashed V

Post by Leon » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:07 am

Let me see if I get this straight:

Khamul Unleashed Virtual
If Khamûl the Ringwraith is in play (as your Ringwraith): Fell Rider does not discard or prohibit the play of followers under Khamûl, and your Fell Rider can never be discarded unless Khamûl is removed from play. You may tap this card to play one allowed Ringwraith follower from the discard pile under Khamûl; this card never untaps. You may start the game with up to one copy of this card in lieu of a minor item.

Khamul can play one follower according to his card text, one for of Khamul Unleashed Virtual and of course always Uvatha. This means it is fairly easy for him to make a company of 4 Ringwraiths. With Fell Rider he has 1 DI, and can control 3 Ringwraiths. More is not possible, because you cannot increase his direct influence as Fell Rider.

Also, he is the only one to have the effect from Fell Rider, the others just are in Fell Rider mode as per their card text.

Is this analysis correct?

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:19 am

you score an A for your mele/Virtuals test. :D

One minor remark, Khamul can control 1 RW for free for being Khamul, and Uvatha for free for being Uvatha, and 1 RW for having 1 DI, but no for KU V, because that only allows him to play one, not control for free. If you can up his DI you can play more guys of course, so you can play Honey on the Tongue, he's still a diplomat, fell rider or no.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

Leon
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Leon » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:27 am

Of course you can increase his DI temporarily, but not permanently, so a 4 Ringwraith company is the practical limit. I am composing sort of a Ringwraith Manual including Virtuals, and wanted to be certain I actually understood the card.

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:35 am

if the Mouth V gets through (one version of him I think), you can recycle diplomat cards :wink:
At least if you play HotT, you can then get a RW with We Have Come during site phase at a border or ruins, should you be tapped out for some reason, he'll be discarded next turn, but then he's done his business...in fact, KU V doesn't say it needs to be in org phase or in a haven, so you might not even need WHKTK? hmm well the rule still applies then, so I guess not, though you could say card overrides the rule, but the card is unspecific about when and where.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

Leon
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Leon » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:41 am

I think the word "allowed" refers to the normal rules for Ringwraith followers: at a Haven, under DI, during organization phase.

This just makes it one of the cards that allows the play of followers at all, like the normal They Ride Together, The WitchKing ability etc.

User avatar
Nerdmeetsyou
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:30 pm

Post by Nerdmeetsyou » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:17 am

yeah maybe we should limit that to organistion phase....
or wasn't it meant that way and we just forgot the phrase?

Leon
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Leon » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:44 am

The only thing the card makes possible is to take a character from the deck instead of hand. It does not overrule anything, unless I am making a huge mistake in judgement.

marcos
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Post by marcos » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:01 pm

Leon wrote:The only thing the card makes possible is to take a character from the deck instead of hand. It does not overrule anything, unless I am making a huge mistake in judgement.
that is correct

Locked

Return to “Showcase”