Token of Goodwill

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2018 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Token of Goodwill

Post by Konrad Klar »

Token of Goodwill wrote:Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below), and make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.
Only target of the card is a diplomat in specified company. Only declared action caused by the card is a corruption check (made by the diplomat).
Whether the company is able to discard an item, is so important as whether the diplomat is able to make a corruption check (ally-diplomat is not able).
It is not required by the card, and flow of the execution of the card does not rely on it, but at least presence of the diplomat is condition of the card, however presence of an item of given type is not.

Proposed erratum:

Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below and has an appropriate item. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below), and make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Token of Goodwill

Post by Thorsten the Traveller »

has anybody every played this for no effect and/or to make a cc? I see the shortcoming of the card, but how is it a problem?
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Token of Goodwill

Post by Bandobras Took »

I agree that it's not urgent, but better language on cards isn't a bad thing in and of itself.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Token of Goodwill

Post by Konrad Klar »

Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:57 pm
has anybody every played this for no effect and/or to make a cc? I see the shortcoming of the card, but how is it a problem?
Perhaps almost everybody tries to play a cards I though they were written correctly. Compelling reason for not making errata for cards at all.

And I did not say that in such case (no appropriate item in company, item cannot be discarded) there will be no effect. There will be the effect.
Token of Goodwill makes some action (discard) on item, but neither checks whether the action was successful, nor even requires an item in company at declaration.
Hour of Need requires a faction in player's hand, Long Grievous Siege (after errata) requires eligible site card in location deck.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Token of Goodwill

Post by Theo »

Alternative wording suggestion:
Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below) to make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Token of Goodwill

Post by Konrad Klar »

Great.

Now a company without appropriate item may count only for not failing cc. Nothing to offer, nothing to gain.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”