Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2018 ARV should be posted here.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by Konrad Klar »

Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 8:30 am
Can it not be Marvelled/Voiced before it resolves?
No. Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent may be stopped by reduction of HL. Like any action that counts against HL in M/H phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by Theo »

Not sure whether you intended the English double-negative...

It can't be targeted by Marvel's Told to prevent the stored item from being returned.

It can [amended: can't] be targeted by Marvel's Told (by both players) afterwards, removing the 2 points regardless of what type they are. :roll:
Last edited by Theo on Fri May 18, 2018 5:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!

dirhaval
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by dirhaval »

I like to mention that playing an item requires the correct site and tapping the character as the most basic of playability requirements.
Muster Disperses requires a roll and thus a chance to fail. Factions too require a roll and thus failure is possible, of course besides using Red Arrow.

Is there any interest about allowing unstoring of items?
Any talk about having the hazard in question target one item at a stored site? Allowing the target player to choose the item to be revalued?

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by Theo »

Theo wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 9:07 pm
It can be targeted by Marvel's Told (by both players) afterwards, removing the 2 points regardless of what type they are. :roll:
Let me amend this.
CRF wrote:You may not target hazards in your opponent's marshalling point pile for removal.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1704
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by Thorsten the Traveller »

Can you explain why it cannot be the target of Marvels/Voices before it is resolved, and thus is not yet in the MP pile?
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by Konrad Klar »

Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Sat May 19, 2018 9:15 am
Can you explain why it cannot be the target of Marvels/Voices before it is resolved, and thus is not yet in the MP pile?
Because until resolved Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent is not in play.
Nothing may target/affect a card merely declared.
Exceptions are:
- cards/effects that explicitly (by card's text) target an action/a card declared in the same chain of effects (e.g. Twilight, Many Sorrows Befall, Prowess of Age),
- cards/effects that target a dice-rolling actions (e.g. corruption checks); the cards/effects may only be declared in response in the same chain of effect in which the dice-rolling action has been declared.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2117
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Erratum Proposal : Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent

Post by CDavis7M »

Sure looks like a circle to me.

And it's a hazard. Hazards give kill MPs. Resources give item MPs etc. This is not a resource.

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”