Ballot Item # 2 - A Malady Without Healing {erratum}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the erratum described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

Yes
55
93%
No
4
7%
 
Total votes: 59

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 1138
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Ballot Item # 2 - A Malady Without Healing {erratum}

Post by the Jabberwock » Sat May 05, 2018 3:40 am

INFORMATION
It is widely accepted to allow targeting your opponent's characters with this card. A strict reading of the rules, however, do not permit this card to target an opponent's character due to this CRF rule:
You cannot target an opponent's character or resources with your own resources.
While Malady suggests that it overrides this rule, it is not explicitly so stated.

It seems clear that ICE intended for this card to be able to target opponent's characters as evidenced from the following: in ICE Ruling Digest 582, the following question was asked and the answer given by Van Norton is posted below:
"2. If my opponent plays A Malady Without Healing against me, can I respond to the corruption check with A Friend or Three (or any other resource) despite the fact that it is not my resource turn?

No. You may only play resources during your turn."
Clearly, the assumption was that Malady could be played on opponent's characters, and if that was not the case, then Van would have simply amended his answer to state that Malady may not be played on an opponent, and thus the question proposed is irrelevant.

BALLOT ITEM # 2:
Are you in favor of issuing the following erratum?

A MALADY WITHOUT HEALING
Change This:
Magic. Shadow‐magic. Playable during the site phase on a non‐Ringwraith, non‐Wizard character at the same site as a shadow‐magic‐using character. Target character must make a corruption check modified by ‐1 followed by a body check (modified by +1 if tapped). If target character is a hero and is eliminated by these checks, you receive his kill marshalling points. Unless the shadow-magic-user is a Ringwraith, he makes a corruption check modified by ‐5.
To This:
Magic. Shadow‐magic. Playable during the site phase on a non‐Ringwraith, non‐Wizard character at the same site as a shadow‐magic‐using character you control. Target character must make a corruption check modified by ‐1 followed by a body check (modified by +1 if tapped). If target character is a hero and is eliminated by these checks, you receive his kill marshalling points. Unless the shadow-magic-user is a Ringwraith, he makes a corruption check modified by ‐5. May target an opponent's character.
(changes in bold for clarity)


CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then A Malady Without Healing will be able to target your opponent's characters, and you will be required to use your own shadow-magic using character to play this card (not one controlled by your opponent).

If you vote NO, then A Malady Without Healing will remain unchanged and ambiguous. It will be up to each playgroup and tournament judge to decide how this card is interpreted and what is or is not allowed.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
CoE Rulings Digests #21 and #46 further support the assumption that Malady may target opponent's characters.

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3216 AND viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2739&hilit=target+ ... +resources

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”