Ballot Item # 25 - Returned Beyond All Hope {erratum}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the erratum described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

Yes
42
89%
No
5
11%
 
Total votes: 47

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Ballot Item # 25 - Returned Beyond All Hope {erratum}

Post by Shapeshifter »

INFORMATION
The proposed erratum takes care of the issue that short-events do not stay in play normally. Therefore the card shall become a permanent-event for its 2nd alternative use. Although the original version of Returned Beyond All Hope states "(do not discard)" for this use of the short event, the proposed change will make the card's intended mechanics smoother. The "otherwise, discard this card" clause has now to be added because otherwise it would be unclear what happens to the card if the result of the roll is 8 or lower. The erratum will not change the way the card is played already but prevents hypothetical discussions about whether the card may stay in your opponent's marshalling point pile or not.

BALLOT ITEM # 25:
Are you in favor of issuing the following erratum?

RETURNED BEYOND ALL HOPE
Change This:
Bring one hazard creature of the following type from your discard pile to your hand: Maia, Elf, Dwarf, or Dúnedain. Alternatively, bring a Maia permanent-event from active play to your hand. Alternatively, make a roll (draw a #)-if the result is greater than 8, bring an eliminated Elf or Maia hazard creature to its owner's discard pile and place this card in your opponent's marshalling point pile (do not discard it).
To This:
As a short-event bring one hazard creature of the following type from your discard pile to your hand: Maia, Elf, Dwarf, or Dúnedain.
Alternatively, as a short-event bring a Maia permanent-event from active play to your hand.
Alternatively, as a permanent-event make a roll (draw a #)-if the result is greater than 8, bring an eliminated Elf or Maia hazard creature to its owner's discard pile and place this card in your opponent's marshalling point pile, otherwise, discard this card.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then the card's mechanics are more in accord with the usual game mechanics of MECCG.

If you vote NO, then Returned Beyond All Hope will remain unchanged.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
None

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3314
Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”