Ballot Item # 30 - Ready to His Will {clarification}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the clarification described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

Yes
42
95%
No
2
5%
 
Total votes: 44

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Council Member
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Ballot Item # 30 - Ready to His Will {clarification}

Post by Shapeshifter » Thu May 17, 2018 7:25 pm

INFORMATION
The current wording of the CRF entry on Ready to his Will does not have proper rules language.

BALLOT ITEM # 30:
Are you in favor of issuing the following clarification?

READY TO HIS WILL
Change This:
CRF, Errata (cards), Ready to his Will wrote:Note that cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as a passive condition, once an attack of the right type is in play. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect.
To This:
Note that effects of cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as actions caused by a passive condition, declared once an attack of the right type is faced. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then you think that the current CRF entry needs some polishing.

If you vote NO, then the CRF entry above will remain unchanged.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
Rulings Digest #61 wrote:Can someone please explain to me how a Ranked Thief (Thief Hazard Creature w/ Rank Upon Rank) can be captured by the play of Ready to His Will?
*** It's all about the chain of effects.
Chain 1 (with Rank Upon Rank in play):
Thief -=Resolves=-
Thief: Comes into play and triggers the passive condition of a man attack for Rank Upon Rank. The rules require that Rank Upon Rank's
triggered effect is the next chain.
Chain 2:
Declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect
Ready to His Will -=Resolves=-
Ready to His Will: Sees a 1 strike Thief and turns it into an ally.
Rank Upon Rank: Sees no man attack. Effect fizzles.
If you think that either the current CRF entry is clear enough or the proposed clarification is not in the sense of the intended clarification you will probably vote for "no change".

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3332

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”