Page 1 of 1

Ballot Item # 30 - Ready to His Will {clarification}

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:25 pm
by Shapeshifter
INFORMATION
The current wording of the CRF entry on Ready to his Will does not have proper rules language.

BALLOT ITEM # 30:
Are you in favor of issuing the following clarification?

READY TO HIS WILL
Change This:
CRF, Errata (cards), Ready to his Will wrote:Note that cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as a passive condition, once an attack of the right type is in play. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect.
To This:
Note that effects of cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as actions caused by a passive condition, declared once an attack of the right type is faced. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then you think that the current CRF entry needs some polishing.

If you vote NO, then the CRF entry above will remain unchanged.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
Rulings Digest #61 wrote:Can someone please explain to me how a Ranked Thief (Thief Hazard Creature w/ Rank Upon Rank) can be captured by the play of Ready to His Will?
*** It's all about the chain of effects.
Chain 1 (with Rank Upon Rank in play):
Thief -=Resolves=-
Thief: Comes into play and triggers the passive condition of a man attack for Rank Upon Rank. The rules require that Rank Upon Rank's
triggered effect is the next chain.
Chain 2:
Declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect
Ready to His Will -=Resolves=-
Ready to His Will: Sees a 1 strike Thief and turns it into an ally.
Rank Upon Rank: Sees no man attack. Effect fizzles.
If you think that either the current CRF entry is clear enough or the proposed clarification is not in the sense of the intended clarification you will probably vote for "no change".

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3332

Re: Ballot Item # 30 - Ready to His Will {clarification}

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 11:36 pm
by CDavis7M
Since there is no evidence of player confusion, it is a wonder that people decided that this was worth a vote?
Shapeshifter wrote: Thu May 17, 2018 7:25 pm If you think that either the current CRF entry is clear enough or the proposed clarification is not in the sense of the intended clarification you will probably vote for "no change".
I think this CoE change is not clear enough.
Shapeshifter wrote: Thu May 17, 2018 7:25 pm Change To This:
Note that effects of cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as actions caused by a passive condition, declared once an attack of the right type is faced. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank's effect.
The effects of Rank upon Rank are not necessarily "declared once an attack of the right type is faced." Some of the effects of Rank Upon Rank happen immediately "when such an affected attack is defeated."