Treason the Greatest Foe

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Treason the Greatest Foe

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:22 am

Treason the Greatest Foe wrote:Playable during the site phase on a minion if a non-Wizard hero is at the same site and the hero and minion have the same home site. Make a roll (draw a #). If the result plus target minion's unused direct influence is greater than the hero's mind plus his player's unused general influence, discard the hero (and all cards he controls) and place this card in your marshalling point pile. Otherwise, discard this card.
Only target of the card is a minion character. According to general rules it is restricted to player's character.
"non-Wizard hero is at the same site" is condition but not target. According to general rules such entity may be an opponent's character.

Thanks to its text the card may be used to discard an opponent's character (for FW player, also its own character).
There is one problem. There may be more than one eligible hero character at resolution of the card (at declaration too).
Specifying the hero character at declaration means targeting it. Such approach would break much of a sense of the card, restricting it to be usable only by FW player.

Proposed clarification:

"If there is more than one eligible hero character at resolution of the card, you must choose one of them. The result of roll will be compared against the chosen character's mind (plus his controlling player's unused general influence) and only the character (along with all cards he controls) may be discarded in result of the roll."


EDIT: Changed thread's title to reflect its status. It is no longer proposed clarification, but proposed errata.
Last edited by Konrad Klar on Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Treason the Greatest Foe (clarification)

Post by CDavis7M » Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:15 pm

To confirm - because opponent's characters cannot be targeted by your own resource (would you please point to this general rule for completeness?), then Treason the Greatest Foe cannot actually select a particular characters upfront (unless the player is a FW and has an Orc minion and a minion/hero treated as hero, because you can target your own characters).

This seems unfair because you can roll and then select the character to discard? Is this how people actually play the card?

I assume most people simply name the character and then roll (even though this may violate a rule). This seems to be the intention.

Alternative suggestion:
Treason the Greatest Foe - Proposed Errata wrote: Playable during the site phase on a minion if a non-Wizard hero is at the same site and the hero and minion have the same home site. Name the hero at the same site. Make a roll (draw a #). If the result plus target minion's unused direct influence is greater than the named hero's mind plus his player's unused general influence, discard the hero (and all cards he controls) and place this card in your marshalling point pile. Otherwise, discard this card.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Treason the Greatest Foe (clarification)

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:11 pm

Proposed errata:

"Playable during the site phase on a minion if a non-Wizard hero is at the same site and the hero and minion have the same home site. Choose the hero at the same site. Make a roll (draw a #). If the result plus target minion's unused direct influence is greater than the chosen hero's mind plus his player's unused general influence, discard the hero (and all cards he controls) and place this card in your marshalling point pile. Otherwise, discard this card."

I have decided to use "choose", because there may be (hypothetically) multiple eligible characters with the same name.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”