Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:46 am

Master of Wood, Water, or Hill wrote:Ritual. Tap a sage to change one Wilderness [-me_wi-] to a Border-land [-me_bl-] or Shadow-land [-me_sl-] or one Shadow-land [-me_sl-] to a Wilderness [-me_wi-] or one Border-land [-me_bl-] to a Wilderness [-me_wi-] . Sage makes a corruption check. '...No one has ever caught old Tom walking in the forest, wading in the water, leaping on the hill-tops under light and shadow. He has no fear.' -LotRI
Bold original.

Text of the card does not specify any duration of its effect. I think that it is a mistake.

I propose the following erratum:

"Ritual. Tap a sage to change until end of turn one Wilderness [-me_wi-] to a Border-land [-me_bl-] or Shadow-land [-me_sl-] or one Shadow-land [-me_sl-] to a Wilderness [-me_wi-] or one Border-land [-me_bl-] to a Wilderness [-me_wi-] . Sage makes a corruption check. '...No one has ever caught old Tom walking in the forest, wading in the water, leaping on the hill-tops under light and shadow. He has no fear.' -LotRI"
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by Theo » Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:50 am

Aligns with:
CoE #118 wrote:(9) Joe Bisz asked: "When Master of Wood, Water, and Hill is played (see text below), I assume that the change in the region symbol it creates lasts until the end of the turn, such that if a company take multiple m/h phases through the same region, the region symbol is still changed? (Miguel thought so.) Is the region also considered changed for ALL of your companies, in case other companies decide to move through that changed region?"

Miguel was right. And to answer your follow-up question: yes.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One family of busy dwarves with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make---or one online community. Cautious skill!

Zakath
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:15 am
Location: United States

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by Zakath » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:24 pm

Also with an earlier digest, #31:
Rulings Digest 31 wrote:If a short event's text doesn't indicate a duration for its effect, the effect lasts until the end of the turn
It seems like there was an understanding once that short-events inherently did not last beyond the current turn. Perhaps a new, official clarification to that effect would accomplish more than issuing errata for one specific card?

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by CDavis7M » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:04 pm

Zakath, I reviewed many (but not all) hero short events and cannot find any exceptions (that have not received errata) other than Master of Wood Water or Hill. I haven't looked at the minion events. Do you have any other cards in mind?

Every short event that I've seen either:

-- is limited to a particular time frame (for the rest of the turn; until the end of the turn, like the elven rings)
-- is limited to a particular temporary sequence/action (an attack, a corruption check, an influence attempt, etc)
-- provides some immediate effect (untapping, searching a deck, making a card playable, healing, etc)
-- indicates a particular site being moved to, or
-- doesn't indicate a time frame, or a particular site, but is only playable at the end of the organization phase (Horses with errata, Ancient Stair, Hey Come Merry Dol, Ford, etc).

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by the Jabberwock » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:06 pm

I agree with Zakath.

I would prefer to issue a clarification which states that any short event that doesn't specify a duration will last until the end of the current turn.

Zakath
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:15 am
Location: United States

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by Zakath » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:08 pm

CDavis, the reason I had that digest ready to recall when I saw this topic is I went digging for a ruling on short-events to understand how to interpret the minion resource Come By Night Upon Them, as I was considering including it in a deck. It is another one that doesn't have any text expressing how long its effect lasts.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by CDavis7M » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:29 pm

You're right! Instead of targeting the attack it targets the site. I guess this also brings into question Bounty of the Hoard, which is "playable during the site phase" but not expressly limited to that particular site phase.

Come by Night Upon Them seems to be worded more like a permanent event that would be played on a site.

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk


User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Master of Wood, Water, or Hill

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:36 pm

CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:29 pm
You're right! Instead of targeting the attack it targets the site. I guess this also brings into question Bounty of the Hoard, which is "playable during the site phase" but not expressly limited to that particular site phase.

Come by Night Upon Them seems to be worded more like a permanent event that would be played on a site.

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
I think that an item played in result of Bounty of the Hoard, may be played only at time of execution of Bounty of the Hoard in chain of effects.
If so, defining in the text of the card a period in which the item may be played, would be inappropriate.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”