MPs for Trophies

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: MPs for Trophies

Post by CDavis7M »

CRF Rulings by Term - Trophires wrote:Trophies
  • Creatures whose marshalling points are listed with an * give marshalling points while used as trophies.
  • Defeated Dragon manifestations can be used as trophies, including Dragon factions.
  • Trophies can be discarded to satisfy "thieving" attacks, and count as items for all other effects.
  • Characters may not be taken as trophies
  • Trophies in Fallen-wizard companies give prowess and influence bonuses based on the MPs printed on the card.
The CRF does NOT say "Creatures whose marshalling points are listed with an * give marshalling points as printed on the card while used as trophies." Therefore, even if a creature gives MP, it could very well give MP according to other rules, such as the Fallen Wizard rules in The White Hand rules, or based on Stage cards, etc. The Fallen Wizard rules on Marshalling Points are not limited to MPs in the MP pile. They would apply to trophies as well (as far as MP). Still, trophies in FW companies give bonuses based on the printed MP, as stated in the last line of the Trophy Rulings by Term. Therefore, I don't see what the proposed clarification adds.

The statements in the Balrog rules are consistent with the CRF and The White Hand Rules.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: MPs for Trophies

Post by CDavis7M »

The source Q/A that led to the CRF statement "Trophies in Fallen-wizard companies give prowess and influence bonuses based on the MPs printed on the card."
ICE Digest 85 - 1998/05/21 wrote: Question:
Speaking of trophies: An Orc in a Fallen-wizard-company, would he get +1DI *and* +1PR for having let's say an Assassin (2MP) as a trophy or only +1DI? That is, do you only look at the value printed on the card, although it is worth only 1M.P. (without other cards, of course)?

Answer:
You only look at the value printed on the card.
The pre-MEWH MELE ruling that led to the CRF statement "Creatures whose marshalling points are listed with an * give marshalling points while used as trophies."
MELE CRF - 1997/07/05 wrote: Trophies

Creatures whose marshalling points are listed with an * give marshalling points when used as trophies.
This older ruling only applies to MELE.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”