Wizard's Trove

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 1138
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Wizard's Trove

Post by the Jabberwock » Wed May 15, 2019 10:44 pm

WIZARDʹS TROVE ‐ Permanent‐event (R)
[SP: 1]
You may play The White Tree at one of your Wizardhavens [ [-me_ha-] ] if Sapling of the White Tree is stored there. Place Wizardʹs Trove with The White Tree ‐ which is worth full marshalling points. Your Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] becomes protected. Ignore the text of The White Tree.
Alternatively, you may store one miscellaneous marshalling point card at one of your Wizardhavens [ [-me_ha-] ]. Any reference to the site where the card can normally be stored are transferred instead to the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ]. Place Wizardʹs Trove with the stored card ‐ which is worth full marshalling points.

I propose the following Card Erratum be issued:
WIZARDʹS TROVE ‐ Permanent‐event (R)
[SP: 1]
You may play The White Tree at one of your Wizardhavens [ [-me_ha-] ] if Sapling of the White Tree is stored there. Place Wizardʹs Trove with The White Tree ‐ which is worth full marshalling points. Your Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] becomes protected. Ignore the text of The White Tree. Discard the stored Sapling of the White Tree.
Alternatively, you may store one miscellaneous marshalling point card at one of your Wizardhavens [ [-me_ha-] ]. Any reference to the site where the card can normally be stored are transferred instead to the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ]. Place Wizardʹs Trove with the stored card ‐ which is worth full marshalling points.
(bold mine)

Thematically speaking, the Sapling is growing into The White Tree, thus it doesn't make sense for The White Tree and the Sapling which created it to both be in play at the same time. Furthermore, other instances of The White Tree coming into play (not using Wizard's Trove) require a Sapling be discarded.

Reference Topic: None

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 652
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Wizard's Trove

Post by CDavis7M » Wed May 15, 2019 10:53 pm

I guess this depends on whether Wizard's Trove only modifies the site-playability requirements of White Tree (e.g., it can be played at a wizard haven instead of Minas Tirith), which would still require the sapling to be discarded. OR whether Wizard's Trove lets you "slip it into play" without any requirements of White Tree being checked.

More discussion on Wizard's Trove here: https://councilofelrond.org/forum/viewt ... 145&t=3735

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 1138
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Wizard's Trove

Post by the Jabberwock » Thu May 16, 2019 2:56 am

CDavis7M wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 10:53 pm
I guess this depends on whether Wizard's Trove only modifies the site-playability requirements of White Tree (e.g., it can be played at a wizard haven instead of Minas Tirith), which would still require the sapling to be discarded. OR whether Wizard's Trove lets you "slip it into play" without any requirements of White Tree being checked.
Indeed, I have played against an opponent who was in favor of the "slip into play" interpretation, which I personally disagree with. I think this should be decided one way or the other.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Wizard's Trove

Post by Theo » Thu May 16, 2019 3:19 am

CDavis7M wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 10:53 pm
I guess this depends on whether Wizard's Trove only modifies the site-playability requirements of White Tree (e.g., it can be played at a wizard haven instead of Minas Tirith), which would still require the sapling to be discarded. OR whether Wizard's Trove lets you "slip it into play" without any requirements of White Tree being checked.
The relevant reference for "current" CoE interpretation:
CoE #65 wrote: You have in play the Wizard's Trove and you have stored a Sapling. Now
do you have to discard the Sapling if you play the White Tree ?? You
could argue no, becauce the WT's text is ignored(due to the Trove), but
does this still apply if the text is ingnored AFTER the play of the Tree?

*** You do not have to discard the Sapling because Wizard's Trove
provides an alternate means of playing The White Tree, therefore the
playability text on The White Tree is not used.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!
Double Standards.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”