Hounds of Sauron repeatable during CVCC?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Frodo
Ex Council Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 5:09 am
Location: NYC, NY

Hounds of Sauron says it may be played in lieu of initiating CVCC.

May I forgo initiating CVCC, and play multiple Hounds of Sauron against my opponent's company, or may I not, because this would require the ability to initiate CVCC multiple times?

If Hounds does indeed have the same limitations/strengths of CVCC, would I get kill points for knocking off my opponent's characters with the wolf attack created by Hounds?

And YES everyone, this is relevant to the new Dwar Unleashed (V) deck... sheesh!

Frodo
Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

I reckon it could be played multiple times. The condition is just that you can't then initiate CvCC.

I do not reckon you get kill points however. :)
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Actually Jambo you would be incorrect.

You can attempt to CvCC a company once per turn.

It says "in Lieu of". You can't "in Lieu of" something more than once if you are restricted to once a turn.

Under your reasoning, I could play 3 open to summons and 2 minor items in my starting company, because open to the summons say in lieu of a minor item.
Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

Yeah. you may be right Brian.

Guess it depends on whether playing resources during the Character draw is the same as playing resources during your own turn.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

How about two Burglary in lieu of facing one automatic-attack?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Please post new questions in new threads so we don't clutter up ongoing discussions.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ach! It is so unrelevant to the topic in your opinion?
Burglary wrote:Tap a character to make a burglary attempt at a site in lieu of facing its automatic-attacks. Tap the site and make a roll (or draw a #) modified by +2 if the character is a scout and by +3 if he is a Hobbit. If the result is greater than 10, an item normally playable at the site may be played with the character. If the attempt fails, the character must face all automatic-attacks alone.
My previous post was addresed to the Jambo's supposition:

"Guess it depends on whether playing resources during the Character draw is the same as playing resources during your own turn."
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Again, you only face the automatic attacks once, unless something forces you to face them again, so again I would have to say if it says in lieu of you can only do it once per instance of the in lieu of. If you were to face automatic attacsks twice in a given turn, then yes it would work for each instance. In my 2 cents.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”