Hunters Dilemma

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
domse
Ex Council Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:55 am

Hey folks,
I have been thinking about "The Hunt" for a very long time now. And the more I think of it the more I get confused with it and I now consider it one of the most complex cards in this complex game.
The Hunt wrote:Playable on Alatar during the organization phase. Name a specific hazard creature card your opponent revealed to you through a mechanism of the game and discarded. Unless eliminated or prevented from being in play, your opponent then finds this particular card (reshuffling his play deck if it was searched). This creature immediately attacks Alatar as though he were a one-character company. Alatar cannot use or benefit from spells against the attack. If untapped, tap Alatar afterwards.
Now here is the scenario:

Opponent did attack me with a cavedrake. I cancelled the attack. I play "the Hunt" later and kill it. Now i have another "The Hunt" in hand and play it. Can I name a cavedrake again?
Unless eliminated or prevented from being in play, your opponent then finds this particular card
This seems to tell us, that I cant.

But how does "The Hunt" actually distinguish between multiple copies of a non-unique creature? I could add to the scenario I described above:

Between the cancelling of the cavedrake and my first Hunt, opponent played an unexpected Outpost and a second cavedrake. Neither me nor "The Hunt" do now know if the opponent actually has 2 cavedrakes in deck?

Now for the superfun: If I am allowed to name a cavedrake in this scenario and my opponent did use only 1 (recycled) he has to prove it and the only logical way to do this is: showing me his entire deck, discard pile and sideboard. This on the other hand would have IMMENSE tactial consequences.

I hope you can now understand why I called this thread "Hunters Dilemma". No matter how I play this card, it seems wrong to me...

Dominic
User avatar
zirilan
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: c:\

The Hunt does not force to reveal any card but a copy of the choosen name that now attacks. If no copy is available, nothing attacks nothing is revealed at all.

Check for possible cheating after the match has end. No harm to ruin opponents tactic.

Or, have a judge check opponents decklist if no creature attacks.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

domse wrote:But how does "The Hunt" actually distinguish between multiple copies of a non-unique creature?
Generally there is no way of distingushing between multiple copies of the same card that are not in play (are in DP, or PD, or SB, or at hand). Non-unique card that has been discarded, can be moved to the play deck, the play deck can be shuffled and even card's owner may don't know whether he is playing the same card or its copy.

Even if The Hunt would actually require the same copy of non-unique card, such requirement would be impossible to fulfil.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”