Beginner question - eliminated character and his items

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
ali40thiefs
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:40 pm

I would like to ask what happen with the items which is bearing an charcter eliminated by combat. Can other characters take his items, or are they but in the dicard pile or ? Many thanks for advice.
Sfan
Ex Council Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:59 am
Location: Königswinter, Germany

The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Beornd
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:15 pm

Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...one item....
ali40thiefs
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:40 pm

Beornd wrote:
Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...one item....
So when the eliminated character has two items and the moment of death, it is possible to transfer only one ?
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

ali40thiefs wrote:
Beornd wrote:
Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...one item....
So when the eliminated character has two items and the moment of death, it is possible to transfer only one ?
Edited. I was obviously wrong about that.

Further information in the rules book or at the dutch council site in the rules section which is the best online source for rules.

http://www.meccg.net/netherlands/meccg/

Or follow the link in my signature and join our online-gaming community to find out how that feels like. ;)
Last edited by Alter Tuk on Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Playing and Drawing Cards, Transferring Items wrote:Normally, when a character leaves active play (e.g., is discarded or eliminated), all cards controlled by him are discarded. There are two major exceptions to this:

* Sometimes, the card that causes the character to leave play allows him to transfer an item(s) (e.g., Call of Home).
* If a character is eliminated due to failing a body check, one item can be immediately transferred to each unwounded character in his company: but, the rest of his items are discarded.
CRF, Rulins by Term, Body Check wrote:Annotation 22: When a character fails a body check, his items may be immediately
reassigned to unwounded characters in his company, one item per character.
Reassigning of the eliminated character's items is considered to be synonymous with
his failed body check, i.e., no action may take place between the failed check and
reassigning the items. Unassigned items are discarded.
So one item for each recipient, not one item of eliminated chcracter.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
domse
Ex Council Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:55 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Playing and Drawing Cards, Transferring Items wrote:Normally, when a character leaves active play (e.g., is discarded or eliminated), all cards controlled by him are discarded. There are two major exceptions to this:

* Sometimes, the card that causes the character to leave play allows him to transfer an item(s) (e.g., Call of Home).
* If a character is eliminated due to failing a body check, one item can be immediately transferred to each unwounded character in his company: but, the rest of his items are discarded.
CRF, Rulins by Term, Body Check wrote:Annotation 22: When a character fails a body check, his items may be immediately
reassigned to unwounded characters in his company, one item per character.
Reassigning of the eliminated character's items is considered to be synonymous with
his failed body check, i.e., no action may take place between the failed check and
reassigning the items. Unassigned items are discarded.
So one item for each recipient, not one item of eliminated chcracter.
I am SHOCKED! I played this one wrong for a quite a long time now... Why didnt somebody tell me?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Errr...
Somebody just tell you... :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Strange thing that is.... Almost everybody plays that wrong who I have played with in years, including me....
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

We're too used to 2 man companies ;-)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”