(8) The question has arisen about what happens to a company that may do nothing during its site phase (due to the effects of River, Lost in Free Domains, etc.) when it is faced with certain cards like Siege and Near to Hear a Whisper.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It was ruled previously that the company may do nothing whatsoever. This is not 100% correct. The company does not have a site phase and cannot enter the site. So the resource player may not play resources, unless in response to an attack, in which case these must be resources that affect the attack.
MELE turn summary wrote:Site Phase
In the order you decide (i.e., you decide which goes first, second, etc.), each of your companies may: · do nothing or
· follow this procedure:
The CoE ruling is incorrect in that the company has a site phase in which they must take the bolded option.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Imo it is not clear what "do nothing" literally comes down to and this ruling does not clarify that, because it's contradictory: if there is no site phase, how can Siege or Near to Hear a Whisper trigger? So you're right there. But how this contradicts with the mele rules you quote is not clear to me.
So what do you mean? they skip the site phase formally, or that they are still given the choice of entering the site?
Rules have sometimes been bit careless, your CvCC/hazards remark is a good example, but this one is not so clear cut.
my 2 cents: there should always be a site phase, if you're at a site you're there, and you cannot be supposed to be nowhere, and if you have the option to do stuff in end-of-turn phase still, then hazards should also apply. Effectively the ruling is correct: you do have a site phase and you must opt (if that is logically posssible) to do nothing. So you cannot decide to enter for the sake of facing an attack.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
Being attacked is not activity of a defender. It is an activity of attacker. Company cannot do anything during oppponent's turn but still may be attacked in CvCC.
Question is whether such company may take any activities to defend itself.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
@ Thorsten: Yes, it's simply a matter of precision. The company still has a site phase, it's just a site phase in which they must take the first option. Any effects which would occur during their site phase would allow them to react normally, though
Near To Hear A Whisper wrote:Any agent may attack a company at his site at the start of the site phase if the company chooses not to enter the site
A company under the effect of River/Lost In Free Domains did not choose -- they were forced.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.