Dwarven Rings

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Snoof
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:22 pm

Another question.

I've got, say, Gimli with the Dwarven Ring of Bavor's Tribe at a site which plays greater items:

1) To use the ring's ability, does the site have to be untapped? The errata for the Dwarven Ring of Barin's Tribe indicates that particular ring requires an untapped site, which implies the other rings work at a tapped site.
2) Does the site tap due to an item being played?
3) Can a tapped character receive the item?
4) Does the character who receives the item tap?

Thanks!
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Tap a Dwarf bearer to search your play deck for a greater item playable at the bearer's site. Play this item immediately or discard; reshuffle the play deck.
All this says is to play the item. It does not override any item play rules. Therefore:

It must be during the site phase.
The site must be untapped, as must the character receiving the item.
Both the character and the site will tap upon successfully playing the item.

P.S. Unless this card works like A Chance Meeting, but I'm not going to start that argument again. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Snoof
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:22 pm

Whew, thanks for clearing that up. That was what I thought, but the errata for Barin's Ring threw me.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”