Just a few "newbie" questions...

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Morgul_Rat
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:48 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Sorry if these are elementary but I really want to know rather than guess...

1) After you tap a site, unless you have a card to untap it, it is gone when your company moves from the site? It seems to me that this is true...then if you build a deck, you should only include one or two resources that can be played at "X" site since you won't be able to play them later once the site is tapped. Example: If I have two card that say "can only be played at bag end" or something to that effect, once I use Bag End to play one of those cards, Bag End is lost for me and I can not use it again???? Also, is there a limit to the number of site cards in site decks?

2) I think I saw in some other threads that cards usually can only effect the company they are in or the site they are at (with a few exceptions)...correct??? What about Tom Bombadil? His card says (I am sure most of your know his text already but I will put it anyways): "Unique. Playable at Old Forest. Tap to cancel the effects of one hazard that targets a company, or an entity associated with a company, moving to a site in: Arthedain, Cardolan, Rhudaur, or The Shire. Discard Tom Bombadil if his company moves to a site that is not in: Arthedain, Cardolan, Rhudaur, or The Shire." This seems to say that his ability can be used on other companies as long as they are in the correct region(s). Am I correct?????

3) Other than personal preference, is one of the types of movement (starter, region, ect) better than the others for game-play/game mechanics? Or do they all pretty much produce the same effects and players should just mix and match these types to their advantage during play?

4) I love to play THEMEs in CCG decks...are they competitive in MECCG or should I just have fun with themes and get used to losing? haha

Thanks!
~Do not be too eager to deal out death in judgment. Even the very wise cannot see all ends~

Trade with me: http://www.TradeCardsOnline.com/user/morgul_rat
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Morgul_Rat wrote:Sorry if these are elementary but I really want to know rather than guess...

1) After you tap a site, unless you have a card to untap it, it is gone when your company moves from the site? It seems to me that this is true...then if you build a deck, you should only include one or two resources that can be played at "X" site since you won't be able to play them later once the site is tapped. Example: If I have two card that say "can only be played at bag end" or something to that effect, once I use Bag End to play one of those cards, Bag End is lost for me and I can not use it again???? Also, is there a limit to the number of site cards in site decks?
Haven sites (both haven cards and haven site types) are returned to the location deck even if tapped. All other tapped sites are discarded, and will only be returned to the location deck when a deck is exhausted. You may only have one copy of non-haven site cards in your location deck; a fallen wizard may have one of each version. If any version of a site card is in your discard pile, you may not use any version of that site. Putting playable at X cards in your deck is more a question of game length and abilities; for example, Fallen Radagast has a card that lets him play allies at tapped sites. As well, many minion resources are playable at tapped sites. In general, though, you are correct.
2) I think I saw in some other threads that cards usually can only effect the company they are in or the site they are at (with a few exceptions)...correct??? What about Tom Bombadil? His card says (I am sure most of your know his text already but I will put it anyways): "Unique. Playable at Old Forest. Tap to cancel the effects of one hazard that targets a company, or an entity associated with a company, moving to a site in: Arthedain, Cardolan, Rhudaur, or The Shire. Discard Tom Bombadil if his company moves to a site that is not in: Arthedain, Cardolan, Rhudaur, or The Shire." This seems to say that his ability can be used on other companies as long as they are in the correct region(s). Am I correct?????
To cancel an attack, the character doing so must be facing an attack. To untap a site, the character doing so must be at the site. Other than that, anything's fair game for resource play, and Tom can cancel whatever he wants subject to the restrictions on a card.
3) Other than personal preference, is one of the types of movement (starter, region, ect) better than the others for game-play/game mechanics? Or do they all pretty much produce the same effects and players should just mix and match these types to their advantage during play?
Generally, mix-n-match. Starter can allow you to move more than 4 regions. Also keep in mind:
Fallen Wizard players may not use starter movement.
Ringwraith companies may not use region movement.
Ringwraith companies may not move to non-darkhaven sites unless in a mode.
4) I love to play THEMEs in CCG decks...are they competitive in MECCG or should I just have fun with themes and get used to losing? haha
Some themes are competitive; a well-run Return of the King deck, for example, or an Unexpected Party looking for Treasure. Minion burn decks are highly thematic and can work. I'm the master of theme-based losing, on the other hand. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Morgul_Rat
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:48 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Sorry, but one more question I would like to ask...

For the card "Adûnaphel": "Unique. Nazgûl (7th). May be played as a hazard creature (with one strike) or as a permanent event. As a creature, may also be played keyed to Brown Lands, Dagorlad, Gorgoroth, and Western Mirkwood; and may also be played at sites in these regions. If played as a permanent-event, it will remain in play until tapped during the opponent's movement/hazard phase (tapping counts against the hazard limit). When tapped, Adûnaphel becomes a short-event and causes any one character to tap."

If I play this as a permanent-event, it is not tied to a certain site or company/character so it will stay in-play until I choose to tap it and then I can tap anyone character anywhere, correct?

Also, I can NOT use my own hazard cards against my characters/resources to gain marshaling points, etc, CORRECT???
~Do not be too eager to deal out death in judgment. Even the very wise cannot see all ends~

Trade with me: http://www.TradeCardsOnline.com/user/morgul_rat
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

When you play Adunaphel as a permanent event, you dont need to key her to any region, because she isnt a creature at that point. Youc an then use one against th elimit to tap her, and you can do that on another company or even during another turn.

You can only play hazards against the company moving at that point, so you can never send them to your own company. Note tho that some hazards create a general effect counting for both players. EG. If Rank upon Rank is in play, played by my opponent, he also affects the man (and possibly giant) hazards that I play.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”