Troll-purse and play of 2nd item at under-deeps

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Troll-purse wrote:Playable on a site with an Orc or Troll automatic-attack. When any item is played at this site, the company must face all automatic-attacks of the site again with the attack's prowess modified by +3. Any successful strike does not harm the character, but rather the character is taken prisoner at the site. The rescue-attack equals all automatic-attacks of the site at the time of rescue.

MEDM rules insert wrote:Normally, when you successfully play an item, faction, ally, or information at a site, the site card is tapped and one additional character may tap to play a minor item. At an Under-deeps site, you can play any item playable at the site instead of this minor item.
If I play an item at an under-deeps site I may immediately play a second item. When may Troll-purse be revealed and what happens then?

a) it may only be revealed after the play of the 2nd item because 2nd item is played immediately?

b) Troll-purse may be revealed immediately after play of 1st item an triggers so that a 2nd item may not be played anymore?

c) Troll-purse may be revealed immediately after play of 1st item an triggers but a 2nd item may be played afterwards?

I guess a) is true but I am not sure about this.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

My hunch is that A is correct, as well. The free item is played immediately, while Troll-Purse lacks that word.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

I think none of the above is exactly correct (well c kind of is).

You play item #1, Troll Purse gets revealed and it triggers, making you face the auto-attacks again in the next chain of effects. However, you can still continue the chain you began (by playing item #1) and immediately play item #2. Should you choose to do so, Purse gets triggered again, making you face the auto-attacks twice.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Hmm, interesting. Thanks for your help!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”