Memories Recalled

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
zirilan
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: c:\

Can I just tap a sage and discard this card even if my company has no "Lost Knowlege" card in play?
Vastor Peredhil
Ex Council Member
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

The way I read as a non native speaker you can discard it from hand instead of discarding 1 from the company, so you still need one Lost Knowledge in the company, but I am not sure this is how it was meant to be played. . .

and I have for sure seen it played wrongly

mfg Nicolai
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

zirilan wrote:Can I just tap a sage and discard this card even if my company has no "Lost Knowlege" card in play?
When asking questions like this it would help to have the card text handy. I don't know without the text.
Beornd
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:15 pm

Short-event
Playable on a character with a sage in his company. All dark enchantments on target character are discarded. Alternatively, a sage can tap and you can discard this card from your hand to fulfill the requirement that Lost Knowledge be discarded for any card played with the sage's company.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Boy, does a chain of effects get ugly when you try to use this card. :)
Fate wrote:Playable on a company at Minas Tirith if the company discards (for no effect) a Lost Knowledge card it controls.
Theoretically, discarding the Lost Knowledge is an Active Condition for play of Fate of the Ithil-Stone. Using Memories Recalled would have to be done as part of that active condition, meaning that it happens immediately when play of Fate of the Ithil-Stone is declared (no chance for response; the chain of effects is still being established at this point, but you can't respond to Active Conditions).

As I read it, you don't have to already have a lost knowledge card in play. Cards which require the discarding of a Lost Knowledge card do so as an active condition, and you can use Memories Recalled to satisfy that Active Condition. So long as that's been satisfied, the card in question will be just fine when that card resolves in its chain of effects.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

zirilan wrote:Can I just tap a sage and discard this card even if my company has no "Lost Knowlege" card in play?
You can do that, but it needs to be in order to fulfill the requirement stated in the card text (not just because you want to discard the card).
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”