Many Questions and Clarifications Needed

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Mordan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Tellin (Belgique)

Hello,

I have been reading a lot these days. I read all erratas, the 124 page PDF rulebook made by one of this great community. It has been 14 years since I last played and back then we had many fights over the rules.Today with the Internet I hope to clarify many doubts about the rules.I will post my questions as they come.

Q) Can a twilight cancel another twilight before it resolves? Never read an explicit answer. The text on the card makes it very dubious. It says immediately.

The timing rule is very very very confusing.

---------------------------

About Morgul Night and Foul Fumes combos with Fell Winter, Choking Shadows

Assume DoN is in play and opponent does not have any Gates of Morning or Twilights in his hand.

First let's start simple:

Will of Sauron is in play along with Foul Fumes from a previous turn.

What happens if I play Choking shadow on a wilderness in the site path of the site? Is Choking Shadow affecting a region, thus potentially tapping other sites? This sound very logical. Choking Shadows on Rhudaur taps all site with Rhudaur in its site path.

On to a more complicated combo.

If I understand correctly a normal chain of effect when you play Foul Fumes then Morgul Night, then Fell Winter to tap a site with a Border Land in its site path. Fell Winter resolves first and make Border Land a wilderness. Morgul Night makes wilderness into a shadow land and Foul Fumes taps the site.

Subsidiary clarification :when Belegear from METD is played to reached the Stones from Himring, is the site the Stones tapped with the above combo? Technically The Stones site path is 2 wilderness but Belegear may have changed that for that particular situation.

Is this also a possiblity? You play Morgul Night and it resolves. Then you play Foul Fumes and it resolves. Effectively tapping sites with a Wilderness in their site path. However what happens when I play Fell Winter and it resolves?

Finally what happens when those long events are made permanent with WoS? When do their effect resolves? Or are they continuous?
When and who decides which effect take place first when long events Morgul Night, Foul Fumes and Fell Winter are in play and a new site is revealed?
Does Morgul Night work on Forod site path?

I hope with your answer I will be able to extrapolate combo with with Fell Winter and New Moon.

I'm pretty sure all theses questions have been answered by previous Blockade deck creators.


Q)When Will of Sauron is discarded by some means what happens to Long Events in play?
When I read the rules, Long Events are discarded in the long even phase. Period.
I ask because I read in a COTD that Long Events are discarded immediately. That would suck. What if a long event is played this turn just before the WoS is discarded?

Another question about timing relating to playing Marvels Told,
Q) Marvels Told is played. In response may hazard player tap Nazgul Adunaphel to tap only sage that is currently moving, Marvels Told fizzles and discarded?
Could Adunaphel tap a sage from another company if current company does not have a sage?

Q) I read somewhere that creatures
revealed as automatic-attacks do not count as creatures.
Is a on-guard creature faced after the automatic attack, deemed an automatic attack creature?

Q)Can Tom Bombadil
tap to play Marvels Told? What happens if he fails the corruption check? Does he have to make a corruption check in the first place? Since he is supposed to be a character only for combat.

Q)What about Nenya short event? Do you keep the card under galadriel until the end of the
turn on the board since it effects last until the end of the turn? I ask this to know when I can take it back with the Palantir of Orthanc.

Q)Can some characters tap to help Gandalf with the Narya corruption check after they have been untapped by Narya effect?

Q)Do allies count for the Siege hazard? Does Goldberry ability work against Siege? May Quickbeam battle against the Siege attack? Got an argument because Siege lost my opponent the game and he had Goldberry.

Q)Elostirion Palantir
. In Elladan M/H phase, Alone and Unadvised is played on Elladan. He is alone. Can you tap Bilbo with the Palantir to remove the Corruption card Alone and Unadvised before the card effect resolves? To my knowledge with Marvels Told that is legal, why not with the Elostirion Palantir?

Q)What about to objects of a character who lost against Abductor? They intuitively should be discared as well. When Galadriel is abducted she can't possibly give her Ring of Courage.

Q)When a Shadow Hold
becomes a Ruins and Lair and then a Border Hold through Quiet Lands and Rebuild Town, what happens next turn? What happens if opponent wants to reach the site?

Q) Can Cirdan cancel an attack by Earcaraxe ahunt? On the card, it says any costal sea region in order to include Elven shores with Himring site.

Q)Is the following correct? End of turn phase. Hand reconciliation happens first. Then Saruman taps to get a spell back in the player's hand.. Can you tap a Human with Tale of the Hunt to untap Saruman and thus take a 2nd spell? Or untap Saruman with And Forth He Hastened?

Q)Enruned Shield What does mean ineffectual? Do you get to do the body check?
Is there any errata to clarify?

Q)Palantir of Osigliath. What does mean duplicate the effect? Can Orthanc take 2 cards instead of 1. I have always understood it like that. Very poor choice of words, especially since Amon Sul is very clear about it.
When Palantir of Amonl Sul uses Palantir of Elostirion in play, does it tap Elostirion as well as tapping itself?

Q) Secret Passage

Can you combo this card with others like with Forod? Or Belegear? Great Road?

Q)Vilya can take hazard or not ? CRF says no. but I read otherwise in a COTD.
So Palantir of Orthanc is the only resource card able to recycle a hazard card?

Now a few anomalies that make me unhappy and do not fit into Middle Earth and thus annoy me a lot.

Q)A Cave Drake is Dragon? How is your brain working? It is a Drake. It is in the title of the card! He is little worm from the pits of angband, not a real big Dragon. Do METD bonus card only valid for Dragons apply to this little critter? No Errata on this card?
With METD out, an little errata was due. They did much more worse to Muster.

Q)What about Winds of Wrath can you really send them to Variag Camp or Urlurtsu Nurm? That's the most comical if not stupid thing I have ever read in this game. You can send them right over the Mountains of Mordor to Nurm, but you can't send them to Pelargir! Why not in Shrel Khain while you are at it? There is a sea over there.

Q)Sacrifice of Form
Wizard is alone against Intagast Ahunt. Sac of form. Boom. Bazooka with errata. Sac of Form is supposed to be an escape thing. Anyways does he need to roll 3 body checks or only one? Seems broken to me with the +3 body check given in the errata. IMHO the original -3 malus is true to the Tolkien idea. Gandalf or Saruman would have just gone kill Smaug alone if that was the case. Does not even need to be untapped.
What's the point of Wizard's staff then? Especially with the White Wizard card that you can play.

Thanks a lot for reading my many questions. I hope you have some answers :)
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Lot of questions indeed. I'll just answer the easy ones and leave the tricky ones about timing issues to the rulesmeisters, so just to make a start and hope others will be less discouraged by the amount.

First off, CotT is entertaining and you can surely learn a thing or two, but don't use it as a guide for interpreting cards/rules.

A) Will of Sauron; long-events are indeed discarded along with it, when they were played is not relevant. It is the main reason why WoS sucks, as it can be discarded by Marvels and by Doors leaving play and by exhausting. Its powers are good, but it is not often used anymore.

A) creatures as automatic (mainly in Under-deeps) are not considered creatures, indeed. On-guard creatures however are not automatic attacks.

A) Tom da Bomb can play Marvels, and makes no cc.

A) Nenya as a short-event is discarded after play, however its effects last until end of turn. Usually you'd keep it in play for reference purposes only (in case of bad memory or intoxication), but that is not necessary or technically correct.

A) Siege. Allies do not count for the roll, but they still get attacked by it. Goldberry does not work, as not leaving is not the same as being sent back.

A) Abductor. If character is discarded, so are the cards he controls.

A) Rebuilt site. Rebuild the Town is a permanent-event, so why would the site type change back as long as the card is in play? Type and automatic-attack are changed for all players.

A) Cirdan. The Ahunt attack is not keyed to anything, it merely triggers when you move through the affected regions.

A) End of Turn. You may take actions during end-of-turn phase after reconciling, unless expressely prohibited by a card, so you could do the proposed untapping/tapping. edit: Saruman's ability however is at beginning of end-of-turn.

A) Enruned shield. Ineffectual means just that: neither successful nor failed. So no body check, like when you tie a strike.

A) Palantir Osgiliath. Yes indeed poor choice of words, I'm still in the dark myself :wink: , though common knowledge says it rather copies/uses the ability of another palantir in play.

A) Secret Passage. Why not?

A) Vilya. CRF is the guideline.

A) Cave-drake. So I assume you are ready to play dream-card games then. According to dream-card rules, Cave-drake is a drake and not a dragon.

A) Winds of Wrath. Well, Urlurtsu Nurn is on the shores of lake Nurnen, and Southron Oasis borders on an Oasis :wink: . But indeed it is weird. Again, better play the dream-card version.

A) Sacrifice of Form. No the +3 bc is ok. Gandalf killed Durin's Bane after all sacrificing himself, which with body 9 is still no given, and with -3 to the roll would be impossible. Many people have found out that doing Thrain a favour by killing Bairanax at Home with SacForm is by no means automatic (17% chance of failure). And SacForm can also cost you a lot of MP's.

hope this helps.
Last edited by Thorsten the Traveller on Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Mordan wrote:Hello,

I have been reading a lot these days. I read all erratas, the 124 page PDF rulebook made by one of this great community. It has been 14 years since I last played and back then we had many fights over the rules.Today with the Internet I hope to clarify many doubts about the rules.I will post my questions as they come.
Hoo boy, this should be fun. ;)
Q) Can a twilight cancel another twilight before it resolves? Never read an explicit answer. The text on the card makes it very dubious. It says immediately.

The timing rule is very very very confusing.
Normally, you cannot target a card/effect that has not yet resolved in a chain of effects. However, Twilight states:
Environment. One environment card (in play or declared earlier in the same chain of effects) is canceled and discarded. Twilight may also be played as a resource, and may be played at any point during any player's turn.
The card specifically overrides the general rule. If your opponent declares Twilight in a chain of effects, you may respond by declaring your own Twilight. When your Twilight resolves, it will cancel his Twilight before it resolves.
About Morgul Night and Foul Fumes combos with Fell Winter, Choking Shadows

Assume DoN is in play and opponent does not have any Gates of Morning or Twilights in his hand.

First let's start simple:

Will of Sauron is in play along with Foul Fumes from a previous turn.

What happens if I play Choking shadow on a wilderness in the site path of the site? Is Choking Shadow affecting a region, thus potentially tapping other sites? This sound very logical. Choking Shadows on Rhudaur taps all site with Rhudaur in its site path.
This is correct.
On to a more complicated combo.

If I understand correctly a normal chain of effect when you play Foul Fumes then Morgul Night, then Fell Winter to tap a site with a Border Land in its site path. Fell Winter resolves first and make Border Land a wilderness. Morgul Night makes wilderness into a shadow land and Foul Fumes taps the site.
This is also correct.
Subsidiary clarification :when Belegear from METD is played to reached the Stones from Himring, is the site the Stones tapped with the above combo? Technically The Stones site path is 2 wilderness but Belegear may have changed that for that particular situation.
Here you are confusing a site's site path with a company's site path. Belegaer defines the company's site path, but does not alter the site's site path at all. Cards which refer to the site's site path will affect the site normally. (Compare Snowstorm.)
Is this also a possiblity? You play Morgul Night and it resolves. Then you play Foul Fumes and it resolves. Effectively tapping sites with a Wilderness in their site path. However what happens when I play Fell Winter and it resolves?
That's tricky.
CRF wrote:Annotation 26: If at the start of a player's movement/hazard phase, there are multiple effects in play such that their net effect depends on the order they are applied, the player who is currently not taking his turn (i.e., the hazard player) decides the order in which they are to be applied. Once this interpretation is established, all further actions are applied in the order they are resolved for the rest of the turn.

Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn.
Obviously, after the current m/h phase, you can apply them however you wish. For the current phase, the question is whether Morgul-Night will "re-check" after Fell Winter resolves. May be a good one to forward to the NetRep.
Finally what happens when those long events are made permanent with WoS? When do their effect resolves? Or are they continuous?
When and who decides which effect take place first when long events Morgul Night, Foul Fumes and Fell Winter are in play and a new site is revealed?
Does Morgul Night work on Forod site path?
As per the CRF above, at the start of the m/h phase for a company, the player whose turn it isn't decides the order. Morgul Night works on Forod, as Morgul Night refers to all Wilderness symbols.
Q)When Will of Sauron is discarded by some means what happens to Long Events in play?
When I read the rules, Long Events are discarded in the long even phase. Period.
I ask because I read in a COTD that Long Events are discarded immediately. That would suck. What if a long event is played this turn just before the WoS is discarded?
Will Of Sauron wrote:When this card is discarded, all hazard long-events are discarded.
Remember: when the card text directly overrides the rule, the card wins. They are indeed discarded immediately.
Another question about timing relating to playing Marvels Told,
Q) Marvels Told is played. In response may hazard player tap Nazgul Adunaphel to tap only sage that is currently moving, Marvels Told fizzles and discarded?
Tapping the sage is an active condition of declaring the effect of discarding a permanent event. It happens at declaration, so you can't tap them in response. You may freely tap Adunaphel to tap somebody else in response, though.
Could Adunaphel tap a sage from another company if current company does not have a sage?
This is a bone of contention, but the current official ruling is that Adunaphel must target a character in the currently active company.
Q) I read somewhere that creatures revealed as automatic-attacks do not count as creatures.
Is a on-guard creature faced after the automatic attack, deemed an automatic attack creature?
That is essentially correct; creatures used as automatic attacks are considered automatic attacks and discarded even if they are defeated.
Q)Can Tom Bombadil tap to play Marvels Told? What happens if he fails the corruption check? Does he have to make a corruption check in the first place? Since he is supposed to be a character only for combat.
MELE Rulebook wrote:An ally does not count as a character for any purposes other than combat and the use of certain skills.
The glossary definition is a bit inaccurate; the ally rules are more accurate. Allies do not make corruption checks, so Tom is effectively immune to that requirement.
Q)Can some characters tap to help Gandalf with the Narya corruption check after they have been untapped by Narya effect?
There's a lot of complicated timing in the background, but: No. They will untap before their tapping to help resolves.
Q)Elostirion Palantir. In Elladan M/H phase, Alone and Unadvised is played on Elladan. He is alone. Can you tap Bilbo with the Palantir to remove the Corruption card Alone and Unadvised before the card effect resolves? To my knowledge with Marvels Told that is legal, why not with the Elostirion Palantir?
Actually, the card play action must resolve before either Marvels Told or the Palantir can target it. However, since the corruption checks created by the card occur at the end of the movement/hazard phase, there's plenty of time to do either before that movement/hazard phase ends and the corruption checks are triggered.
Q)When a Shadow Hold [/b]becomes a Ruins and Lair and then a Border Hold through Quiet Lands and Rebuild Town, what happens next turn? What happens if opponent wants to reach the site?
The permanent-event remains, and the site is a Border-Hold for the person that played it. Permanent events played on a site affect only that copy of the site unless the card states otherwise.
Q) Can Cirdan cancel an attack by Earcaraxe ahunt? On the card, it says any costal sea region in order to include Elven shores with Himring site.
The attack created by an Ahunt Dragon is not keyed to anything; it is merely triggered by movement in the appropriate region. Cirdan can only cancel attacks that are keyed.
Q)Is the following correct? End of turn phase. Hand reconciliation happens first. Then Saruman taps to get a spell back in the player's hand.. Can you tap a Human with Tale of the Hunt to untap Saruman and thus take a 2nd spell? Or untap Saruman with And Forth He Hastened?
Saruman must use his ability at the beginning of the end-of-turn phase, before hand reconciliation. However, if you were using Fallen Saruman's Many-Coloured Robes for some reason, that combo would indeed be legal.
Q)Enruned Shield What does mean ineffectual? Do you get to do the body check?
Is there any errata to clarify?
When you tie the prowess of a strike when facing it, it is ineffectual. This is laid forth in the rules for facing a strike; there is no real need for clarification.
Q)Palantir of Osigliath. What does mean duplicate the effect? Can Orthanc take 2 cards instead of 1. I have always understood it like that. Very poor choice of words, especially since Amon Sul is very clear about it.
It means that instead of using the perm-removing effect, you can instead mimic the effect of another Palantir in play. You tap Osgiliath instead of the Palantir you are mimicking.
Q) Secret Passage[/b]
Can you combo this card with others like with Forod? Or Belegear? Great Road?
Why not? The only requirement for secret passage is that you move to a Ruins & Lairs.
Q)Vilya can take hazard or not ? CRF says no. but I read otherwise in a COTD.
So Palantir of Orthanc is the only resource card able to recycle a hazard card?
Since Vilya has always specifically mentioned resources, it can't take hazards. On a further note, I'm not sure what the COTD author was smoking.
Q)A Cave Drake is Dragon? How is your brain working? It is a Drake. It is in the title of the card! He is little worm from the pits of angband, not a real big Dragon. Do METD bonus card only valid for Dragons apply to this little critter? No Errata on this card?
With METD out, an little errata was due. They did much more worse to Muster.
Mechanically speaking, it's good for certain hazard strategies to have a non-unique Dragon. This is easily one of the big stumbling blocks for new players, though.
Q)What about Winds of Wrath can you really send them to Variag Camp or Urlurtsu Nurm? That's the most comical if not stupid thing I have ever read in this game. You can send them right over the Mountains of Mordor to Nurm, but you can't send them to Pelargir! Why not in Shrel Khain while you are at it? There is a sea over there.
Heh. Wait until you've seen Beorning Skin-Changers stop a flying Radagast. ;)
Q)Sacrifice of Form
Wizard is alone against Intagast Ahunt. Sac of form. Boom. Bazooka with errata. Sac of Form is supposed to be an escape thing. Anyways does he need to roll 3 body checks or only one? Seems broken to me with the +3 body check given in the errata. IMHO the original -3 malus is true to the Tolkien idea. Gandalf or Saruman would have just gone kill Smaug alone if that was the case. Does not even need to be untapped.
What's the point of Wizard's staff then? Especially with the White Wizard card that you can play.
You make a body check for each assigned strike. Note that when this occurred in the books, Gandalf had just kicked the crap out of the Balrog and killed himself to do it. Mechanically, the big drawback to this card is that any followers of the Wizard also get discarded. So you won't be controlling party members with the Wizard's DI for that movement/hazard phase, leaving you wide open to Call of Home/Muster Disperses. Not only that, but if Gandalf goes alone, he's going to get Rivered (assuming he's going after an At-Home Dragon), and if Saruman goes alone, he's going to get Skin-Changered. Also, keep in mind that you can't get MPs from hazards you played yourself, and no opponent in his right mind is going to play a Unique Dragon against a lone wizard.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Permanent events played on a site affect only that copy of the site unless the card states otherwise.
You've given me a good idea of another dream-card erratum again, thanks :wink:
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
Mordan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Tellin (Belgique)

First, thank you both for your answers. Special thanks to Bandoras for the timing explanations.

a few questions remain on the topic above

About the Narya CC. I read somewhere an explanation and I understand it now. Pity because Narya is just so weak then. I guess you really need a card such as a Friend or Three for that.

Vilya has been nerfed quite a bit. So the only resource way to recycle hazard is the Palantir of Orthanc right?

Just to make sure, about Elostirion, part of the question was Can Bilbo who is in a different company use the Palantir to remove a corruption card during the M/H of another company. Even if he already had his own M/H?

I assume I can still untap Saruman by some means at the beginning of the end of turn phase and thus take a 2nd spell.

Eventually you convinced me that SacForm is not so extreme.

So Cirdan is only able to cancel Fell Turtles, Rain Drakes and the likes? About the Ahunt version in play during org phase. I move through a region hit by the dragon ahunt. While drawing cards at the start of the M/H phase, I draw a Marvels Told. Can I Marvels Told the Ahunt Dragon or do I have to face the attack? In other words Ahunt dragon resolves immediately as a passive condition as soon as cards have been drawn?

Otherwise I think I'm starting to understand the chain of effect. Only point to resolve is the "re-check" of Foul Fumes. I read somewhere a similar situation with Withered Lands and Long Winter. Withered Lands is played on Ettenmores site path during the M/H phase. It was written that Long Winter re-check and taps the site. However if by some means Ettenmores untap (is that possible on a Ruins and Lair? Durin's ring?), Longer Winter does not re tap. It taps only once but "rechecks" as many times as needed.

Cheers
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Mordan wrote:About the Narya CC. I read somewhere an explanation and I understand it now. Pity because Narya is just so weak then. I guess you really need a card such as a Friend or Three for that.
Narya isn't too weak; untapping an entire company can be huge. Gandalf already has a +1 to ccs, and Friend Or Three takes care of the rest. You can't really spam it, certainly, but its strategic use is still strong. Don't forget that Fallen Gandalf can also use it, and have an easier time with the ccs.
Vilya has been nerfed quite a bit. So the only resource way to recycle hazard is the Palantir of Orthanc right?
Vilya needed to be nerfed. Infinite Vilya cycling on a mobile Elrond was very, very powerful when METW first came out. Palantir of Orthanc can indeed recycle hazards.
Just to make sure, about Elostirion, part of the question was Can Bilbo who is in a different company use the Palantir to remove a corruption card during the M/H of another company. Even if he already had his own M/H?
Correct. In a similar manner, you can use Marvels Told to remove perms during a m/h phase and tap a sage who is not currently in the active company.
I assume I can still untap Saruman by some means at the beginning of the end of turn phase and thus take a 2nd spell.
Not quite. If an action specifies that it may only be taken at the beginning or end of a phase, then all actions that occur at that period must occur then and can only be taken then. You would need an effect which untaps Saruman specifically during the beginning of the end-of-turn phase, in this case. (In other words, once you take an action that does not occur at the beginning of the phase, it is no longer the beginning of the phase.)
So Cirdan is only able to cancel Fell Turtles, Rain Drakes and the likes? About the Ahunt version in play during org phase. I move through a region hit by the dragon ahunt. While drawing cards at the start of the M/H phase, I draw a Marvels Told. Can I Marvels Told the Ahunt Dragon or do I have to face the attack? In other words Ahunt dragon resolves immediately as a passive condition as soon as cards have been drawn?
Cirdan can also cancel the very nasty Corsairs of Umbar; very useful in a coastal deck.

The attack created by the passive condition of moving through Earcaraxe Ahunt's regions starts a chain of effects in which the attack is the first declared action. As the card is already in play, you can respond to the attack's declaration by targeting the card with Marvels Told. If, when the attack's declaration attempts to resolve, the card which created it is no longer in play, the attack fizzles.
Otherwise I think I'm starting to understand the chain of effect. Only point to resolve is the "re-check" of Foul Fumes. I read somewhere a similar situation with Withered Lands and Long Winter. Withered Lands is played on Ettenmores site path during the M/H phase. It was written that Long Winter re-check and taps the site. However if by some means Ettenmores untap (is that possible on a Ruins and Lair? Durin's ring?), Longer Winter does not re tap. It taps only once but "rechecks" as many times as needed.
Yes, it can only apply once/turn. Do you remember where you read the Withered Lands/Long Winter example?
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Mordan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Tellin (Belgique)

Bandobras Took wrote:
I assume I can still untap Saruman by some means at the beginning of the end of turn phase and thus take a 2nd spell.
Not quite. If an action specifies that it may only be taken at the beginning or end of a phase, then all actions that occur at that period must occur then and can only be taken then. You would need an effect which untaps Saruman specifically during the beginning of the end-of-turn phase, in this case. (In other words, once you take an action that does not occur at the beginning of the phase, it is no longer the beginning of the phase.)
And Forth he Hastened in not playable at the beginning of the end of turn phase? I thought you could play any resource cards during the end of turn phase.

I don't follow you on this one.

Yes, it can only apply once/turn. Do you remember where you read the Withered Lands/Long Winter example?
nope but If I stumble again on it, I will post a reply.

I have a new question about land modifications.

When Foul Fumes and Morgul Night are already in play during the org phase. When you apply the ritual Master of Land, Water and Hills, it is in response of the chain of effect starting at the beginning of the M/H. But then the ritual cannot work since the shadow land effect of Morgul night is still not taking effect. All you can do is change Wilderness to a Borderland. But then if Fell Winter is also in play, you are screwed. Thinking while writing there must be a separate chain of effect for each card already in play? Thus playing the ritual only in response of Foul Fumes, once the hazard player has decided in which order the long events are applied.

Hazard player decides to apply Morgul Night first. I do nothing. It resolves. Then Hazard player decides to apply Foul Fumes. In response I tap a sage and modify the only Shadow Land to a Wilderness. Foul Fumes resolves with no success. Fell Winter is applied. But has no effect on the Ettenmores sitepath.

Now is the "re-check" action starting a new chain of effect? hmm i guess yes. I can tap another sage with another ritual in case he plays a Choking Shadow on my modified sitepath.

But what can the ritual do when it resolves in response to Choking Shadow? The choking shadow has not yet resolved! I have a wilderness and if I change it to Borderland, Fell Winter will apply again? And Then Morgul Night and Foul Fumes will re-check?

So really my question is can you answer to the "re-check" of Foul Fumes and Long Winter?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

For the timing of the environments, I'm not sure; I'd forward the question to the NetRep.

For the other, And Forth He Hastened is not, strictly speaking playable "at the beginning of the end-of-turn phase." Once you play a card that lacks that phrase, it is no longer the beginning. Once it is played, you may not take actions that must be taken at the beginning. You can play And Forth He Hastened during the end of turn phase all you want. However, once you do, you may not use Saruman's ability, as that must be done at the beginning of the phase, and not in the middle of it.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Mordan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Tellin (Belgique)

Hello,

I have more rules questions

Can untapped characters tap to help cc of Wizard's laughter played during opponent site phase?

Does Armory work with Hoard minor items?

Can you MT hazards off to the side? Summons From Long Sleep: Is it off to the side and may it be MTed? What if a Dragon is reserved?

Do Slayers recieve the Scimitar of Steel and Rank upon Rank bonuses? There is no such thing as Slayer race in Middle-Earth. Assassins do.

Can you play creatures on a company that played Hiding, just to cycle your deck. The card says cards cancels, but not prevent play.

Is a canceled attack considered faced, for the purpose of Orc Lieutenant?

Tap Agent at Home Site Border Hold, Play Long Dark Reach, Play Nazgul with full prowess?

What do you tell your opponent when moving twice with a faced down My Precious.

RtAW is played. When is it put in the discard pile? Before or after doing what's said on the card?

Can you use Old Friendship with a lone diplomat wizard?

Tookish Blood is played in defense against another Tookish Blood. What about the items beared by the Hobbit? Tookish blood prevents the hobbit from being discarded, but says nothing about items and followers.

Refuge: May one of my external company join the Refuge. What about Minions and opponents Hero companies? Just to know if setting up a healing refuge in Withered Heath was feasible by just leaving a small minded guy there.

More sense than you: Can you assign a strike to a character controlling a Noble Hound who taps in response to More Sense than You.
That would be the only reason to include More Sense than You IMHO.

Double Helms of Iron gives a body of 4 or 5 for Orc creature with no body?

When can you play a minor item from Armory when Roac influence a faction?

Nenya says "Any one corruption check". 1 corruption check decided by player or characters have 1 free corruption check until the end of the turn?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Mordan wrote:Hello,

I have more rules questions

Can untapped characters tap to help cc of Wizard's laughter played during opponent site phase?
I'm not sure; the ruling for Ren the Unclean seems relevant, though:
CRF wrote:If you tap Ren the Unclean, then you cannot play resources to aid your character's corruption checks. Your characters may tap in support.
This indicates that you may tap characters to support corruption checks not on your turn.
Does Armory work with Hoard minor items?
Sure. Armory specifically allows items stored under it to be played instead of what would normally be allowed to be played.
Can you MT hazards off to the side? Summons From Long Sleep: Is it off to the side and may it be MTed? What if a Dragon is reserved?
MEDM Rules wrote:Any card placed off to the side absolutely cannot be targeted or otherwise affected by the game except by cards that specifically affect cards placed "off to the side."
The question reveals some confusion, though; Summons From Long Sleep is not "off to the side." It is an example of a "host" event, which is a card that places other cards off to the side. The dragon "reserved" with Summons is off to the side. You may not target the dragon. If the host is discarded (e.g. Marvels Told, Cock Crows), any cards placed off to the side with it are also discarded.
Do Slayers recieve the Scimitar of Steel and Rank upon Rank bonuses? There is no such thing as Slayer race in Middle-Earth. Assassins do.
No. There is a slayer race, and only one hazard has it: Slayer. Just one of those weird things like Cave-Drakes being Dragons.
Can you play creatures on a company that played Hiding, just to cycle your deck. The card says cards cancels, but not prevent play.
Sure can, to trigger the cancellation of Hiding. (cf. Stealth)
Is a canceled attack considered faced, for the purpose of Orc Lieutenant?
Yes.
Tap Agent at Home Site Border Hold, Play Long Dark Reach, Play Nazgul with full prowess?
That's a tough one, but "normally playable" means "as written on the card, without considering other cards' effects." Tapping the agent is an effect of the other card, so no, not full prowess.
What do you tell your opponent when moving twice with a faced down My Precious.
If your opponent is smart, you won't have to tell him anything; he'll know you're running My Precious. ;) Remember that legality for movement is checked when an agent is revealed and an agent is revealed when you attempt to do anything with them (essentially). If you've doubled with an Agent that isn't My Precious, there's no problem, and if you never reveal that agent, there's also no problem.
RtAW is played. When is it put in the discard pile? Before or after doing what's said on the card?
What's RtAW? Radagast the Almost-White? Ren the Abysmally Washed? Running to Arthedain Wednesday? :)
Can you use Old Friendship with a lone diplomat wizard?
The player of a card counts as a character in the same company, so yes.
Tookish Blood is played in defense against another Tookish Blood. What about the items borne by the Hobbit? Tookish blood prevents the hobbit from being discarded, but says nothing about items and followers.
Tookish Blood's effect on the cards controlled by the Hobbit are contingent upon his being removed from play. Since this is prevented, nothing happens to the other cards.
Refuge: May one of my external company join the Refuge. What about Minions and opponents Hero companies? Just to know if setting up a healing refuge in Withered Heath was feasible by just leaving a small minded guy there.
The card is used as a site card and the region is established when the card is played. Different copies of Refuge are not the same site, so characters there are safe from your opponent.
More sense than you: Can you assign a strike to a character controlling a Noble Hound who taps in response to More Sense than You.
That would be the only reason to include More Sense than You IMHO.
Noble Hound overrides More Sense Than You because of the phrase "in all cases." More Sense Than You is used:
1) To Fizzle Assassins/Slayers;
2) Make sure your characters walks away from an attack only tapped instead of wounded.
Double Helms of Iron gives a body of 4 or 5 for Orc creature with no body?
5; the effect is cumulative. Similar principle to a FW's character wielding Magic Rings of Stealth and Cunning.
When can you play a minor item from Armory when Roac influence a faction?
Never.
CRF, Roac the Raven wrote:Using this ally to make an influence attempt does not tap a site, and may be done if his company is at a tapped site.
The free minor item is only playable if the resource taps the site.
Nenya says "Any one corruption check". 1 corruption check decided by player or characters have 1 free corruption check until the end of the turn?
The effects of a short-event are immediately applied. If there is no relevant corruption check when Nenya is played, ignore that part of the card.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Mordan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Tellin (Belgique)

thx for your answers.

So Nenya should be played in the same chain of effect of another corruption check ?

Reveal To All Watchers. Sorry I messed up the acronym. So when you play it, when is it discarded? trying to understand if it is possible to draw it again as you play and discard it if the deck is very very small.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I'm actually not sure about Revealed.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”