King Under The Mountain(s)

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Unique. Playable on Balin, Dáin II, Thorin II, or Thráin II if his company has defeated an at home Dragon manifestation attack other than Eärcaraxë at Home. The target Dwarf receives +5 direct influence against Dwarves and Dwarf factions. The site where the Dragon was defeated becomes a Border-hold [-me_bh-] and Dwarf-hold for all purposes and has no dragon automatic attacks. Only Dwarves may play items at this site.
What if target character was in company (or companies) that has defeated more than one Dragon at Home?
Is more than one sites affected by this card? If no, which one is affected?

Bonus question:
"and has no dragon automatic attacks" nullifies further effect of Whole Willages Roused, or just it has no actual effect? :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Since by rule if a unique manifestation is defeated, all copies of the site lose the AAs, we don't need to worry about the second question, even with Whole Villages Roused.

For the first, I'd say that any site where the conditions are met would be changed (and that for all players, since KUtM is not played on a site). I believe the card takes effect whenever there is a site in play where his company defeated an At Home Dragon.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Whole Villages Roused wrote:Playable on a hero Border-hold or Free-hold [F]. The site has the automatic-attacks indicated on the corresponding minion site card (detainment against hero companies) but with +2 prowess. Alternatively, playable on a minion Shadow-hold [S] or Dark-hold [D]. The site has the automatic-attacks indicated on the corresponding hero site card (detainment against overt companies) but with +2 prowess.


Cards indicate what is printed on them, regardless of what happened in play.
And text of KUtM is slightly different from text of other cards that just remove existing AAs. They says "loses all automatic-attacks"
"Loses" is one-time activity, "have", or "not have" is continous state.
Maybe it is meaningless difference, but "better be safe than sorry" so I ask.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I think the indication is lost in a puff of dwarf-logic, but I could be mistaken. :)

Whole Villages is generally played as though it said "the current attacks of the . . . site card," but it does not. May be a good one for the NetRep to clarify. Nice find.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”