Bringing agents into play at Minion Bree for FW

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

The minion version of Bree allows Agent minions to be brought into play under [-me_di-] .

As I read the rules for a Fallen Wizard player the only agent that may be brought into play in Bree using its special effect is Baugur. All other agents are considered Agent heroes for a FW player, right?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Not so far as I know; Agent Minions are cards with both the Agent keyword and a purplish background; Agent Hazards are cards with the hazard template and the agent keyword.

CoE 35 is the basis for this, though it may need to be reworded for clarification:
The agent is, in fact, eliminated in this case. Minions are cards with a rusted purple background. They can be agents or not. Minion agents can be played as characters or hazards. No matter how they are played, they are still minions.
The real problem is that Minion can mean any one of a number of things. In the case of Bree the intent of the card is to allow Agents that are playable as characters to be played there regardless of the normal home site rules for Agents. It is not a stretch to say that a FW can play any Agent Minion card there as a character, even though such a character is then considered a hero character.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

So agent character is minion character until played as character by FW and then counts as hero character (unless it is an Orc, or Troll), or then counts as hazard if played as such.

So if the rule "Not X (hero character, hazard) until played as X" is in force, then hero/Balrog player could reveal agent character cards in in influence attempts as duplicates. Right?

(I forgot to put "P.S." at beginning of this post :wink: )
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I knew there was a can of worms in the question. I merely point out the likely intention of the card meshes well with a previous related ruling. If it needs to be clarified, well . . . that's what the NetRep's for. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:In the case of Bree the intent of the card is to allow Agents that are playable as characters to be played there regardless of the normal home site rules for Agents. It is not a stretch to say that a FW can play any Agent Minion card there as a character, even though such a character is then considered a hero character.
There is a problem with then approach. If "which card can be played?" check refers to template of card then it would stop playing Wild Hounds at minion site. Wild Hounds is a hero resource card that can be played as a minion resource. Deadly Dart is reverse example.

Regardless of the intent of minion Bree's text there is a question about timing. When exactly a characters (a resources) starts counting as hero/minion? There is no provision in rules that such change of alignment happens after successful playing of character (for resources see paragraph above - I think that this cannot be true in practice).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”