Golodhros

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Ringbearer wrote:Can golodhros tap to influence a minion character who is intend on moving away from minas morgul, if that character isnt active and hasnt been moved yet?
No, it needs to be the targeted character's move/haz phase.

(The alternative interpretation might prove problematic, since Baduila could possibly then be used after the targeted company already finished its move/haz phase.)
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Movement wrote:At the end of a moving company's movement/hazard phase (before players return to their hand sizes), its site of origin is removed (discard if tapped; otherwise, return it to your location deck) and the new site card becomes the company's current site card.
You first should reconsile with above (and with bunch of silly rules, that [do not clearly] say when exactly company is at site and when it is moving).
Forbiding Golodros doing what rules do not forbid him may be (optional) next step.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

@Sauron:

Good news. I knew that something like that exist but I could not find it untlil today.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, General wrote:A non-moving company's current site is considered its new site for card play.
So we are redeemed at least from one silly rule. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Movement wrote:At the end of a moving company's movement/hazard phase (before players return to their hand sizes), its site of origin is removed (discard if tapped; otherwise, return it to your location deck) and the new site card becomes the company's current site card.
You first should reconsile with above (and with bunch of silly rules, that [do not clearly] say when exactly company is at site and when it is moving).
Forbiding Golodros doing what rules do not forbid him may be (optional) next step.
Sure, but I was requested to give a ruling in this thread for some games being currently played. It's not an official ruling (rulings outside Digests never are), but it is a ruling none the less. If this needs to be discussed further, it should be taken to NetRep board. However, I will say this:

(i) A moving company is not at the new site until the site phase is the rule we've been going with so far (and ignored the contradicting ones), leading me to believe the new site doesn't become the current site until then.
(ii) The site of origin is still the site of origin (as we established on the NetRep board) even after a company has finished its move/haz phase but isn't at the new site yet, so I think at this point the new site is still the new site (vs. current site).

With (i) and (ii) Baduila becomes a problem if Golodhros can target any character just because he is already in play.

(iii) I think the ruling on Adunaphel might be more about what the hazard player is allowed to target, than about Adu becoming a short-event as if it was just played from hand (whether or not this was even realized when that ruling was made).
(iv) Generally speaking you activate cards (that require activation) on the table in a very similar fashion as you play cards from hand. Restricting Golodhros' ability keeps things clean and simple (vs. complex and confusing), and is in line with how everything else works.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

It is fine that the issue will be discussed at NetRep sub-forum.
So now, briefly, only few reflections.

(i) Companies not being at site until site phase cannot join at end of all M/H phases. It must be clarified (oh... ruled): when exactly they are at site.
Not being at site -> not joining at site -> not causing a violation of company composition rules -> no need to be returned for this reason.

(ii) Companies that had multiple M/H phases had also multiple new sites and sites of origin. Companies that must return in order to avoid violation a company composition rules may cause another risk of such violation and may* need to be returned again.
Fact that a company had site of origin and new site in past does not necessarily mean that it has such sites now. Maybe it has, maybe not.

(iii) Not sure which ruling. My statement (in second post of this thread) regarding Nazgul short-events is based on:
CRF, Rulings by Term, Nazgul wrote:If a Nazgűl is tapped to become a short-event as printed on its card, it turns into a
short-event upon declaration. At this point, the Nazgűl is a short-event just as if had
been played as such from your hand.
(iv) Things should be so simple as it is possible. But not more. Fortunately the whole thing is more fact-finding about rules than creating new rules. Generally speaking... :wink:

Regards

*) There are scenarios where a company has no valid site of origin to return. Wherever it would return it will cause violation.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Rulings Digest #48 wrote:Can an agent make an influence attempt during the M/H phase against a
character/ally when a different company is moving? i.e. Company A is in
it's M/H phase, and agent X wants to make an influence attempt against
Company B. Is this legal?
*** No. Agents not played as characters are hazards, and any effects
produced by them are hazard effects. This, along with the following CRF
entry forbids what you propose:
CRF, Rulings by Phase, Movement/Hazard Phase, Playing Hazards:
# Hazards may only be played on a company whose movement/hazard phase is
being resolved, or on the site they are moving to. Long-events and
permanent-events may effect more than one company even though they are
only played "on" one company.
While it would have been great for this ruling to actually name Golodhros, I do believe it affects him (as well).
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I would not negate existence of this ruling. At best only its validity. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”