But no with Endless Whispers and untapped.
CRF, Rulings by Term, May not Untap wrote:Nothing may untap a character who is the subject of an effect that states the character
may not untap.
Underline mine.Endless Whispers wrote:Dark Enchantment. Playable on a non-Wizard character wounded by an Undead attack this turn; does not count against the hazard limit. Target character can never become untapped while bearing this card. Any effect that would move him to an untapped state makes him tapped instead. Cannot be duplicated on a given character. During the organization phase, a sage in the target character's company may tap to attempt to remove this card. Make a roll (or draw a #): if the result is greater than 7, discard this card.
At first glance underlined phrase seems to be redundant in conjunction with CRF entry. But it is not.
Not only an action that untaps may make a character untapped.
Underline mine.Healing Herbs wrote:The bearer can tap and discard this item to heal a character in his company, changing the character's status from wounded to well and untapped. Alternatively, the bearer can tap and discard this item to untap a character that is not wounded.
Changing the character's status from wounded to well and untapped is one action. It is not "heal" then "untap".
So "Any effect that would move him to an untapped state makes him tapped instead" is not meaningless and thanks to Healing Herbs a wounded characters with Dreams of Lore etc. have a chance of become untapped before Dreams of Lore (etc.) will be stored.