Nobody's Friend/Inner Cunning

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Muzgash
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

Inner Cunning:
As a permanent-event, playable on a face-down agent who was brought into play this turn. When the agent is revealed, and if his home site is a Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D], the site where he came into play (which is not represented by a card) may legally be any Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D]. Discard when the agent is revealed. Alternatively, as a short-event, take any agent who has a home site that is a Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D] from your play deck into your hand (reveal it to your opponent and reshuffle your play deck).
Nobody's Friend:
As a permanent-event, playable on a face-down agent who was brought into play this turn. When the agent is revealed, and if his home site is a Border-hold or a Free-hold [F], the site he came into play (which is not represented by a card) may legally be any Border-hold or Free-hold [F]. Discard when the agent is revealed. Alternatively, as a short-event, take any agent who has a home site that is a Free-hold [F] or Border-hold from your play deck into your hand (reveal it to your opponent and reshuffle your deck).


Do these cards actually give an agent additional home sites? My reading of these cards was that they allowed the agent to come into play at additional sites, but those sites are still not among his home sites. However, I've seen several people write about these cards as if the additional sites were home sites. For instance, one trick that I've seen mentioned is to use these cards with To Get You Away to take the imprisoned characters to any [-me_dh-] / [-me_sh-] or [-me_fh-] / [-me_bh-]. This seems wrong, as I don't see anywhere on these cards that it refers to the additional sites at which the agent is playable as new home sites.

To Get You Away:
Tap an agent at target company's new site. Agent may attack not counting against hazard limit) during the movement/hazard phase. Attacker chooses defending characters. A successful strike doesn't wound the defending character, instead the character is taken prisoner at one of the agent's home site (attacker's choice, regardless of site's location) and the agent returns to the same site. Rescue-attack: Same race as agent-3 strikes with 8 prowess.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I agree with you here.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The reverse trick is more common, not to mention legal: use the cards to get the agent to pop up anywhere on the map, and then use To Get You Away to take a character all the way to the other side.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Muzgash
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

That make more sense. Thanks to you both.
Eyelid
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom

This was actually covered back in the day by the Net Rep team.
In reply to a question about using Inner Cunning against a Minion player, Rules Digest nb. 557 indicated that
If you are playing against a minion, you cannot use Inner Cunning because it targets an agent. If you want to use Inner Cunning against a hero opponent, it does not create additional home sites, it only allows you to bring the agent into play at sites other then the agent's home site(s).
So you're right, no additional home sites for the Agent.
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Ford Prefect
"If you believe in Eternity, then life is irrelevant". House M.D.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I'm not sure whether this ruling is correct as whole.
I do not have an objection to "it does not create additional home sites", but to "If you are playing against a minion, you cannot use Inner Cunning because it targets an agent".

As short-event Nobody's Friend/Inner Cunning does not target anything (player does not specify at declaration which agent will be taken into hand). And there is no rule that says that card/effect that allow a searching for X in deck/pile requires a presence of X in a deck/pile (only then Nobody's Friend/Inner Cunning as short-event would be considered as a card that requires an agent).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I personally agree with Konrad. See my signature for further details. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”