Barrow-Blade

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Muzgash
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

Sorry for the question spree, but here's one more.

Barrow-Blade
Tap the bearer of a Dagger of Westernesse during the site phase at a Ruins & Lairs [R] and play this with the Dagger of Westernesse. Dagger of Westernesse receives +1 prowess (+3 versus Undead and Nazgul). Cannot be duplicated on a given Dagger of Westernesse. "No other blade...would have dealt that foe a wound so bitter..."-LotRIII
Is there way to use this card while facing an automatic-attack? I believe the answer is no.
In the strike sequence,
The defending player may play resource cards that affect the strike (up to one card that
requires skill). You may also use items if applicable.
happens after
The defending character applies a weapon modifier to his prowess if applicable.
Barrow-Blade gives the dagger a prowess bonus, not the character, and at the stage of the strike sequence where you can play resources weapon bonuses have already been applied. Therefore, Barrow-Blade doesn't affect the attack and can't be played.

Is my logic correct?
Dragonmaster
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:52 pm
Location: Belgium

My first reaction would be that you cannot play this card on the auto-attack as it must be played during the site phase and you're at the beginning. I know ICE used poor wording and there are actually loopholes in the rules regarding poor wording, but I believe Barrow-Blade was intended to be played when you entered the site (after auto-attack).
Furthermore you can discuss about whether or not this affects the strike; cards like Dodge, Block, Lucky Strike,... specifically state that they affect the strike, Barrow-Blade is not affecting the strike in my eyes, it gives a prowess boost for sure, but is not affecting the strike.
Just my 2 cts.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

AFAIK, anything you want to play in a site during the site phase must be done after facing the auto-attacks. The first thing you do is face the strikes (and you can use cards that can be played during the strike sequence) and after that come the resources you want to play at the site, so I agree with Dragonmaster, the blade cannot be used before facing the strikes to get the bonus.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
Muzgash
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

Dragonmaster wrote:...
Furthermore you can discuss about whether or not this affects the strike; cards like Dodge, Block, Lucky Strike,... specifically state that they affect the strike, Barrow-Blade is not affecting the strike in my eyes, it gives a prowess boost for sure, but is not affecting the strike.
Just my 2 cts.
The only problem I have with that logic is that it would mean cards that give prowess bonuses for the turn rather than against a strike (e.g. Vilya) wouldn't be able to be played. I think if weapon bonuses were applied after the step in the strike sequence where you can play resources affecting the strike then Barrow-Blade could probably be played.
Mordakai wrote:AFAIK, anything you want to play in a site during the site phase must be done after facing the auto-attacks. The first thing you do is face the strikes (and you can use cards that can be played during the strike sequence) and after that come the resources you want to play at the site, so I agree with Dragonmaster, the blade cannot be used before facing the strikes to get the bonus.
I agree with your conclusion, but basically the question is whether Barrow-Blade affects the strike. I think the fact that Barrow-Blade is a permanent-event that is worth a marshalling point is incidental. If Barrow-Blade gave the character +1 prowess rather than the dagger, then I think you would be able to play it during the strike.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Muzgash wrote:Is my logic correct?
Cool.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”