Revealing an Agent with Inner Cunning/Nobody's Friend

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Inner Cunning wrote:As a permanent-event, playable on a face-down agent who was brought into play this turn. When the agent is revealed, and if his home site is a Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D], the site where he came into play (which is not represented by a card) may legally be any Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D]. Discard when the agent is revealed. Alternatively, as a short-event, take any agent who has a home site that is a Shadow-hold [S] or a Dark-hold [D] from your play deck into your hand (reveal it to your opponent and reshuffle your play deck).
Nobody's Friend wrote:As a permanent-event, playable on a face-down agent who was brought into play this turn. When the agent is revealed, and if his home site is a Border-hold or a Free-hold [F], the site he came into play (which is not represented by a card) may legally be any Border-hold or Free-hold [F]. Discard when the agent is revealed. Alternatively, as a short-event, take any agent who has a home site that is a Free-hold [F] or Border-hold from your play deck into your hand (reveal it to your opponent and reshuffle your deck).


Following situation: One of these cards is in play (i.e. already resolved) on a face-down agent and the hazard player reveals the agent (for it's own sake). Is there time for opponent to respond to the revealing of the agent by playing Marvels Told/Voices of Malice on Inner Cunning/Nobody's Friend thus effectively preventing the agent from coming into play at any [-me_fh-] [-me_bh-] or [-me_sh-] [-me_dh-] ?

Both cards say
Discard when the agent is revealed.

Does "revealing of an agent" has to be declared and resolved in a chain of effects? If not, then this discarding of Inner Cunning/Nobody's Friend happens immediately and cannot be responded to with Marvels/Voices. If yes, when does Inner Cunning/Nobody's Friend get discarded, upon declaration or resolution of "revealing an agent"?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Annotation 9a: If a card is required to be discarded by some passive condition, the card is discarded immediately when the condition resolves, not in the following chain of effects.
Granted that I hate passive condition rules with a passion, starting with Rank Upon Rank and going all the way to In The Heart Of His Realm:

Both cards create an action (discarding a card) that is caused by a passive condition (revealing an agent). Unfortunately, since the revealing of the agent has to actually resolve for the cards to be discarded, there is plenty of time for the resource player to respond to the declared action of revealing an agent by playing Marvels Told to discard the card in question.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

This annotation explains my questions. I overlooked that one. Thanks. :-D

Btw, does someone have a pdf-file of all those annotations and is willing to share this?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I'm not sure if you can download the URD as a .pdf with the Google Docs link, but that's likely your best bet.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

I downloaded the URD as a pdf-file. While it doesn't list the annotations explicitly (by number) it seems you managed to incorporate most (all?) of them somewhere into the document. Man, I forgot how great the URD is, should check it more often for reference. 8)
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Where it is written (or from what it is concluded) that voluntary revealing a hazard agent is declared/resolved an not immediate action?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I will quote from my copy of the MELE Rulebook:
Action: Any activity in the game (. . .) Meeting active conditions and exhausting a play deck are not actions -- they are declared and resolved immediately.
The only way for voluntarily revealing an agent to not be considered an action would be an ICE ruling to that effect, which I have not found.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”