At first glance what the card is doing is increasing a modifier to CC made by sage that taps in support from 1 to 3, at cost of corruption check made by the sage.When I Know Anything wrote:Light enchantment. Playable on a sage during the site phase at a site where Information is playable. Tap sage and site. Tap sage to modify one corruption check by a character in his company by +3. Sage makes a corruption check. 'You are an interfering old busybody,' laughed Bilbo, 'but I expect you know best, as usual.' 'I do-when I know anything...' -LotRI
Formally it is not true.
Sage taps to initiate effect of When I Know Anything, he does not tap in support to CC.
Timing of this action is the same as timing of New Friendship, its result is just applied when the action resolves, adding modifier to upcoming CC. For contrast result of tapping in support to CC resolves later, when the CC itself resolves. So if something would remove the sage from active play (e.g. "Sage makes a corruption check" from WIKA) or would untap him (e.g. Narya declared earlier) before the CC "+3 to CC" will be applied to the CC anyway. Result of tapping in support to CC would not be applied in such situation.
That are pros. Cons are that because tapping to initiate effect of When I Know Anything is not tapping in support to CC, effect of WIKA cannot be used in situation when player is limited in its activities to tapping characters in support. In player turn, e.g. in response to Ren The Unclean's effect or to A Malady Whithout Healing.
As sidenote, this limitation is more explicitly stated for card like Phial of Galadriel.
If you are not allowed to play cards like New Friendship, you cannot tap Phial of Galadriel too.CRF, Rulings by Term, Actions wrote:Tapping a resource can only be done at a time when you could otherwise play a
resource event.