Lure of Creation

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Corruption. A revealed Wizard receives 2 corruption points and makes a corruption check at the end of any movement/hazard phase in a turn during which his company moved to a Haven [H]. Cannot be duplicated on a given Wizard. During his organization phase, a Wizard with this card may tap to attempt to remove it. Make a roll (or draw a #): if this result is greater than 6, discard this card.
This is probably a stupid question, but does this card give corruption points exclusively "at the end of any movement/hazard phase in a turn during which his company moved to a Haven"?
I'm asking because the text on other corruption cards usually follows the following scheme: "A [somebody] receives 2 corruption points. Target character makes a corruption check [sometime]" but on Lure of Creation it's: "A [somebody] receives 2 corruption points and makes a corruption check [sometime]". Thus, is it "A and (B when C)" or "(A and B) when C"?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Convention is that if CP, or MP are received only in some circumstances their values are given in parenthesis.
If not counting this problematic card and similarly worded Longing for The West, I do not know any exception from this convention.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Very often a value somewhere else on a card is repeated in the card's descriptive text for emphasis. A and (B when C) is the correct interpretation.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”