Flatter a Foe <-> Assassin

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Imagine I play Flatter a Foe against an assassin played on a character in my company. Is it true that only the first of the assassin's attacks is cancelled?

Are the 2nd and 3rd attacks cancelled if Faf is successfully played and the hazard limit is reduced to below 0? (No, I think)
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Since the hazard has already resolved, reducing the hazard limit will not get rid of it.
Playable on a character whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Character makes an influence check (modified by his unused direct influence and +2 if a diplomat). If successful, the attack is cancelled and the hazard limit for the character's company is decreased by two. This influnce check is successful if the result is greater than: 10 against a Dragon; 11 against Men or Drakes; 12 against Trolls, Orcs, Elves and Giants.
It only cancels one attack.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Khamul the Easterling wrote:Are the 2nd and 3rd attacks cancelled if Faf is successfully played and the hazard limit is reduced to below 0? (No, I think)
Why not?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

He's asking about two things:

The second and third attacks are not cancelled by Flatter a Foe, but the hazard limit is still lowered.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Why HL can not be lowered below 0?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

My question had this intention:

Let's say the remaining HL is 1.

Then Assassin is played, Flatter a Foe in response (successfully), the first attack is cancelled, the hazard limit is reduced by 2, so becomes -2.
Do the 2nd and 3rd attacks come through? (I guess yes, they do not need a positive HL to be made possible. - just in case I'm wrong, please tell me)

thx
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

Since you cancel an attack, the card is already in the process of being resolved, so it cannot be undone due to lack of hazard limit. It just helps decreasing the dangers after facing the assassin.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

A couple of questions regarding FaF:
1. Does the influence check require the influencing character to tap?
2. Would Foolish Words affect the check?

Thanks in advance :)
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

An influence attempt requires an influencing character to tap, an influence check does not.
Foolish Words affects an influence attempt, it does not affect an influence check.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”