Eddy in Fate's Tide

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:[...]
In the realm of pure theory, where Eddy has been played on a Haven and then Mithril is stored there, allowing the play of items, does Eddy affect the organization phase, or only items played in the site phase?
I realize that my answer was superficial. Although I think that it did not have impact on question about interaction between Eddy in Fate's Tide and playing an item in result of storing a Mithril - such interaction does not exist just because the item is not played at site (a storing of Mithril requires a being at haven site, a playing an item requires being in the same company as character storing Mithrill [the analogy to Ringlore and playing Special Ring Item is still valid too]).

To the main thing:
Before a company can play any ally or item at any version of this site, it must tap two characters during the site phase.

Literally this means that: Before a company can play any ally or item at any version of this site (at any time, in any phase), it must tap two characters during (exactly, not sooner, not later) the site phase.

So even if (in the realm of pure theory) some item, or ally could be otherwise played at site before site phase, Eddy in Fate's Tide would prevent it.

Taking a thing literally.

But:
Old Cache wrote:Playable on a company at a tapped Dark-hold [D], Shadow-hold [S], or Ruins & Lairs [R]. During the site phase, one or two characters in that company may each tap to take control of a non-unique, non-hoard minor item of the following type: Weapon, armor, shield, or helmet. You may take these items from your play deck (reshuffle if used), discard pile, and/or sideboard.
Again, taking a thing literally, the card may be played in untap phase on eligible company and then during the site phase, one or two characters in that company may each tap to take control of a non-unique, non-hoard minor item of the following type: Weapon, armor, shield, or helmet, even if the company is at haven, for example.

Or (for example):
Rangers of the North wrote:Unique. Playable at Bree if the influence check is greater than 9. Standard Modifications: Dúnedain (+1). ...an ordered company, armed with spear and bow and sword. They were clad in cloaks of dark grey...pinned upon the left shoulder by a brooch of silver shaped like a rayed star.-LotRV
Playable at Bree if the influence check is greater than 9, literally means that until check is made, Rangers of the North
are not playable at Bree. In turn this means that Rangers of the North cannot be retrieved be Mistress Lobelia, or by Strider.




The things would be probably more sensible if instead of:
Before a company can play any ally or item at any version of this site, it must tap two characters during the site phase.
text would be:
During site phase, before a company can play any ally or item at any version of this site, it must tap two characters.

Instead:
Playable on a company at a tapped Dark-hold [D], Shadow-hold [S], or Ruins & Lairs [R]. During the site phase, one or two characters in that company may each tap to take control of a non-unique, non-hoard minor item of the following type: Weapon, armor, shield, or helmet.
text would be:
Playable during site phase on a company at a tapped Dark-hold [D], Shadow-hold [S], or Ruins & Lairs [R]. One or two characters in that company may each tap to take control of a non-unique, non-hoard minor item of the following type: Weapon, armor, shield, or helmet.

And instead:
Playable at X if the influence check is greater than n.
text would be:
Playable at X. Is successfully played if the influence check is greater than n.

Such revision of course does not exclude the final variant of Eddy in Fate's Tide would be:

Before a company at any version of this site can play any ally or item, it must tap two characters during the site phase.

(that could a hinder playing of Special Ring Items in result of test). All according to wishes of person that will make the revision (or what he/she consider "more sensible").
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”