Wizard's Ring

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

CRF says:
Card Erratum: Replace "Ignore any effect that would discard this item" with "Cannot be stored,
stolen, or transferred."
Yet, technically, 'stolen' doesn't seem to be defined. One could assume that "Thief" can steal items, but Thief's text is
.. For each successful strike, an item held by the defending company must be discarded (...)...
So, if a company with Wizard's ring is successfully attacked by a thief, a Wizard's ring can be discarded, right?
Otherwise, what is meant by stolen?
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

I think this card was errated because ignorign any effect that discards effectively avoids the possibility of corrupting the wizard, because, if the wizard gets corrupted (discarded or eliminated from play) the ring should be discarded.

By this errata the idea is avoiding the wizard getting rid of the ring by any means (wich should be storing it, transferring it to other character or being discarded by any other card mechanic, wich, in the moment it was faqed, i think only Thief and Burglar existed).

I would say no, thief cannot force the Wizard's Ring to be discarded.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

There are two occurrences of word "steal" in rules.
MELE wrote:Company vs. Company Combat - When one player is a Ringwraith and his opponent is a Wizard (see Using MELE with METW), combat can occur between companies (see Company vs. Company Combat). After such a combat, if your opponent's company has only wounded characters you may attempt to "steal an item." To steal an item, you must tap a character in your company that was involved in the combat. Then, you can force your opponent to discard an item of your choice in his company that was involved in the combat. Finally, if you have a manifestation of the discarded item in your hand, you may play it with the character you just tapped.
Neither rules, nor cards make difference between discarding of item according to Thief, Brigands, Were-Worm, Drowning Seas.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Mordakai wrote:....
By this errata the idea is avoiding the wizard getting rid of the ring by any means ...
I agree that the intention of the erratum was as you say. But intentions are not acceptable as interpretation of rulings. There are many examples where intentions were probably different from the way cards can be played legally (Paths of the Dead, Sneakin' , ...) I need some more convincing reason to accept that a successful strike from Thief cannot lead to a Wizard's Ring being discarded ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”