Twilight vis-a-vis CRF and Hazard Limit

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

If I understand the CRF correctly,
Card Erratum: Add "This card may be played at any time during any player's turn."
Can target a card that has not yet resolved.
Can be played as a resource during your opponent's turn.
Then I can play a creature card requiring DoN and allow my opponent to assign strikes, then as he prepares to face the strike with the Aeglos carrying character, I can twilight DoN even if I have expended the number of Hazards available under the parties limit, yes?

Is this type of play specifically why the third bullet exists?

Thanks,
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Assuming you're getting rid of DoN to affect Aeglos' ability, yes. Twilight never counts against the hazard limit.
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Bandobras Took wrote:... Twilight never counts against the hazard limit.
I know Twilight is played this way (not counting against the hazard limit), but I don't know by which rule. It's neither part of the CRF nor did I find that anywhere else. Where/Which is the official statement for this interpretation? Thank you!
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Khamul the Easterling wrote: Where/Which is the official statement for this interpretation? Thank you!
Because you can play it as a resource on the opponet's turn, and resources never count against hazard limit.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Ok, interesting point. I didn't know one can play resource events even during your opponent's turn.

So, likewise, could I play Gates of Morning during the M/H phase of my opponent?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Look at the CRF entry in the OP. Twilight is specifically stated to be a card that can be played at any time, and when played, can be either a resource or a hazard.

Gates of Morning lacks such a distinction; normally, resources may only be played on your own turn.

See also Blind To The West/Ire Of The East for examples of cards that can be played outside of the normal rules for card play.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Thanks very much!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”