Ringwraith questions

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

1.
mele rules writes: Ringwraiths never make corruption checks and corruption cards may not be played on Ringwraiths.
Veils of Shadow writes: ....unless he is a Ringwraith, character makes a corruption check modified by -4.
Lure of Power writes: The next non-Hobbit character to make a successful influence attempt....must immediately make a corruption check modified by -4.
Cards take precedence over rules, so what if a card forces a Ringwraith to make a cc, like Lure of Power? didn't find anything in CRF to clarify on this.
And if the rule does apply to all cc's potentially made by Ringwraiths, why do magic resource specifically state theys don't have to make the cc?

2.
CRF writes: Discarding an item for an effect written on it is considered using it. Thus it cannot be done by a Ringwraith.
Orc-liquor writes: Discard to give +2 body....to all characters in bearer's company until the end of the turn.
So if another character in a Ringwraith's company uses an item, does that potentially affect a Ringwraith?
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I can't think of any rules that would describe the result of a Ringwraith making a CC, since the MELE rules only cover corruption checks that Ringwraiths never make.

So it would require one if only we knew how to do one.

Similar reasoning was used to show that non-creature detainment attacks could not be defeated (NetRep digest here).
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

MELE, Ringwraith Effects wrote:A Ringwraith may carry items (including rings) but may not use them (i.e., an item has no effect on a Ringwraith's company or on his attributes and abilities).
Emphasis added; the i.e. statement indicates that even if someone else is doing the discarding, the RW's attributes are not modified, and, indeed, that the item in question will have no effect on the Ringwraith's entire company, regardless of composition.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

1.
Thorsten the Traveller wrote:Cards take precedence over rules, so what if a card forces a Ringwraith to make a cc, like Lure of Power? didn't find anything in CRF to clarify on this.
And if the rule does apply to all cc's potentially made by Ringwraiths, why do magic resource specifically state theys don't have to make the cc?
Then that happens what happens when a card forces an ally to make cc. The card must specifically mention Ringwraith/ally to overcome limitation of Ringwraith/ally imposed by rules.
Text of card does not need to state that it does obey a rule, to obey the rule. Otherwise there would not be a sense to state such limitations in rules. All would be at mercy of texts of cards.

Texts like "...unless he is a Ringwraith, character makes a corruption check..." are redundant. In my opinion they make disarray, because players naturally may assume that text of card has meaning, by adding something not present in rules.

2.
Bandobras Took wrote:
MELE, Ringwraith Effects wrote:A Ringwraith may carry items (including rings) but may not use them (i.e., an item has no effect on a Ringwraith's company or on his attributes and abilities).
Emphasis added; the i.e. statement indicates that even if someone else is doing the discarding, the RW's attributes are not modified, and, indeed, that the item in question will have no effect on the Ringwraith's entire company, regardless of composition.
I do not know what deserves more on emphasis - "i.e", or "an". Id est indicates that text on right is explanation of text on left.
Text on left says about items carried by a Ringwright. Text on right says about an item, so about item not specified earlier.

It is just unclear. I do not know any comparative text, that could be used to verify this theory.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Konrad writes:
The card must specifically mention Ringwraith/ally to overcome limitation of Ringwraith/ally imposed by rules.
Ok, makes sense. So the added RW clause on magic cards is moot, that's good to know, as usual I'm asking this to design better DC cards :wink:

Bandobras writes:
the MELE rules only cover corruption checks that Ringwraiths never make
I can't follow, perhaps because you're going down the rabbit hole? :lol:
You're saying Ringwraiths aren't (minion) characters? mele states they don't make cc's. IF they'd make cc's, why wouldn't it be like general other minion characters. They're not an Orc or Troll.
A Ringwraith may carry items (including rings) but may not use them (i.e., an item has no effect on a Ringwraith's company or on his attributes and abilities).
hmm, I also saw this like Konrad's interpretation, that it refers to the RW using the item, not as being affected by an item used in the RW's company. So if a RW is in the company, the whole company cannot drink a sip of Orc-liquor? sounds harsh :-)
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Those Ringwraiths are real sticklers for prohibition. :)

My point is because the rules state that RWs never make corruption checks, any rules describing corruption checks cannot possibly apply to RWs.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

You just denied the existence of hypothetical situations, and also the possibility of such a situation becoming reality.
Never really means never then, or in this case, regardless what any card might suggest.

Still, chimpansees are not bound to Dutch law as humans are, but if they were to be regarded as humans, I don't think we'd have to rewrite Dutch law for them. But you can be their lawyer then :wink:
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Entities that do not have a prowess, body, mind, other attribute are unable to perform actions that require the attribute.
Even if it would be allowed, no one knows hot to influence an item controlled by Wizard, because the procedure involves check against controlling character's mind and Wizard does not have a mind.

Allies, Ringwraiths are restricted by rules from performing cc. But they have potential to make cc.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

You're right. I was under the impression that RWs do not have corruption points, but that is not stated in the rules.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

...and that matters in case of Fealty Under Trial. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”