Items vs number of strikes

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Manuel wrote:There are other cards that couldn't be playable at all, though. For example, cards like Sojourn in Shadows or the strike reducing alternate ability of Dark Quarrels.
Dark Quarrels wrote:Alternatively, if Gates of Morning is in play, the number of strikes from any attack is reduced to half of its original number, rounded up.
Any would include automatic attacks, wouldn't they?
User avatar
Nerdmeetsyou
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:30 pm

but I see there a problem in your argumentation...

As you say the rules are. I cannot play the alternative version of Not At HOme, because it's forbidden in the rules to do that....
because it does not cancel a strike or an attack, it just reduces the number of strikes from an automatic attack... and only from automatic attack...
What is the card for, if you cannot play it????


NOT AT HOME ‐ Short‐event (C)
Cancel one Dragon, Drake, or Troll automatic‐attack or attack keyed to a site.
Alternatively, if Gates of Morning is in play, reduce the number of strikes of any automatic‐attack by 2 (to a minimum of one).
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:
Manuel wrote:There are other cards that couldn't be playable at all, though. For example, cards like Sojourn in Shadows or the strike reducing alternate ability of Dark Quarrels.
Dark Quarrels wrote:Alternatively, if Gates of Morning is in play, the number of strikes from any attack is reduced to half of its original number, rounded up.
Any would include automatic attacks, wouldn't they?
Assuming that "any" have special meaning (i.e. have priority over other restrictions), not that just means "type of attack does not matter".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Nerdmeetsyou
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:30 pm

What can I exactly do now when I face an auto attack?
and what not?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I ran across this unfortunate tidbit in the CRF:
Actions wrote:Tapping a resource can only be done at a time when you could otherwise play a resource event.
Which means that Black Arrow or Noldo Lantern can't be used because you can't play a resource event unless it cancels the attack, cancels the strike, or is otherwise playable during the strike sequence (and I believe it's too late to give a prowess penalty to the whole attack once you're facing individual strikes -- I'm uncertain on that one, though).

However, if the resource could be discarded to affect the number of strikes (e.g. Foul Trophies), that would be completely okay.

I won't bother to say what I think about that. :)
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Tapping a resource can only be done at a time when you could otherwise play a resource event.
What this means? Which resource, which event? In each phase of his turn player may play some resource event.

P.S.
Someone, in other thread, in other context... wrote:Please try to give us a little context when you make an argument... we're not stupid, but we don't always know what's in your mind.
:wink:
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Tapping a resource can only be done at a time when you could otherwise play a resource event.
What this means? Which resource, which event? In each phase of his turn player may play some resource event.
I'm sorry, but that's the whole of the CRF for the heading of Actions.

I'll try to clarify what I meant to say thereby:
Jaded wrote:It is said that one cannot play a resource to reduce the number of strikes form AA if a resourcce does not specifically mention AA. What about items like Noldo Lantern?
Bandobras Took wrote:That would seem to indifcate that initiating a resource effect does not equal playing a resource.
Leon wrote:I see no reason why Noldo-Lantern can not be used versus an automatic attack. And I could really not see why people consider using such an effect the same as playing a card.
However, you can only tap a resource if you could play a resource event at that point. The only resource events you can play on an automatic attack are those that cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence. Therefore, the only resources you can tap during an automatic attack are those which cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise tappable during the strike sequence.
This is a different case from using Cram to play concealment, because the use of Cram does not directly affect the attack and Noldo Lantern does.
However, since the CRF doesn't mention that you can only discard resources when you can otherwise play them, you're safe to use cram and/or Foul Trophies. At least, that's how it appears to me, now.

Hopefully that communicates more clearly what I was trying to say.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:However, you can only tap a resource if you could play a resource event at that point. The only resource events you can play on an automatic attack are those that cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence. Therefore, the only resources you can tap during an automatic attack are those which cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise tappable during the strike sequence.
Where is written that you may tap resource only at time when you could otherwise play a resource event that serve the same purpose as tapped resource?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:However, you can only tap a resource if you could play a resource event at that point. The only resource events you can play on an automatic attack are those that cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence. Therefore, the only resources you can tap during an automatic attack are those which cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise tappable during the strike sequence.
Where is written that you may tap resource only at time when you could otherwise play a resource event that serve the same purpose as tapped resource?
Good point. I guess I was reading a bit too much into that CRF entry. :)
Wacho
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Konrad Klar wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:However, you can only tap a resource if you could play a resource event at that point. The only resource events you can play on an automatic attack are those that cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence. Therefore, the only resources you can tap during an automatic attack are those which cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise tappable during the strike sequence.
Where is written that you may tap resource only at time when you could otherwise play a resource event that serve the same purpose as tapped resource?
Oh come on! What else would be the purpose of the CRF entry then? You can play resource events at any time.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

Yep. Some items couldn't be tapped at all due the lack of corresponding resources.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Wacho wrote:
Konrad Klar wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:However, you can only tap a resource if you could play a resource event at that point. The only resource events you can play on an automatic attack are those that cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise playable during the strike sequence. Therefore, the only resources you can tap during an automatic attack are those which cancel the attack, cancel the strike, or are otherwise tappable during the strike sequence.
Where is written that you may tap resource only at time when you could otherwise play a resource event that serve the same purpose as tapped resource?
Oh come on! What else would be the purpose of the CRF entry then? You can play resource events at any time.
Absolutely different!
Theme for new thread.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Manuel wrote:
Playing card is not the same as using effects of card in play.
Then, could you discard a cram while facing an auto attack to untap an scout and play a concealment? The answer is no.

As far as I know, for the purposes of Annotation 18 playing cards is the same as using cards that are already on the table.

According to such annotation, reducing number of strikes is not playable against an auto attack, so that ability from Noldo Lantern could not be used :/ (why did ICE wrote that stupid annotation anyway?)
Found on:
http://www.councilofelrond.org/wiki/ind ... e_Sequence
[crf.html#new @] Interpret "may play resource cards that affect the strike" in annotation 18 as "may initiate resource / character effects that affect the strike". [CoE] [crf.html#non-rev %]
Right, but I think that this is (as suggested by text - "Interpret(...)in annotation 18") specific for Annotation 18, not general interpretation.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”