Discarding - on guard card - handing up - end of turn

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:22 am
Location: ITALY - Milan
Contact:

Please ... let me know if i'm right or wrong here.

Here is the situation.

My hand = 8. I have 8 cards and i put 1 on guard. And of M&HP i hand up and draw 1 card.
At the end of the turn i can discard 1 card and then hand up again. Now the question: WHEN does the on guard card (assuming it is a bluff) come back to my hand?
Actually i could FIRST discard one card THEN Hand up and then got my on guard back (so i discard it 'cause i have 9 cards) ... OR do i take back the on guard card BEFORE handing up? Doing so ... i cannot discard 1 card (to take another one) 'cause i discard the 9th card ...

I hope i was clear enough (sorry ... may be my english here has been not so good :wink: )

mm75
"In front of such powers and strengths, it seems a very little thing the story of some common humans, but really some of them were able to change and fight this world's fate".
(taken from "Shara") Marco Fregonari
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

The on-guard comes back to the hand BEFORE discard/draw.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

So if you have played on guard

1 end of turn -> 8 cards in hand
2 get onguards back -> 9 or more cards in hand
3 discard one card if you want -> 8 or more cards in hand
4 go back to handsize -> 8 cards in hand

I know listing step 3 does not make much sense since 4 is discarding again, but just to be clear. Actually it would not even matter if 2 or 3 comes first.
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:22 am
Location: ITALY - Milan
Contact:

So get me straight ...

i have 8 cards, i take the on-guard card(s) (let's say one). So i have nine.

NOW i CAN discard 1 card (as per rules) so i discard 1 card and get 8 cards.

Then i go back to handsize at the end, i have 8 cards so i don't draw neither discard cards.

Is that the correct interpretation?

mm75
"In front of such powers and strengths, it seems a very little thing the story of some common humans, but really some of them were able to change and fight this world's fate".
(taken from "Shara") Marco Fregonari
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

That is correct I believe.

The mistake I have seen people make is retrieving on guards, going to handsize, discarding a card and going to handsize again.
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:22 am
Location: ITALY - Milan
Contact:

Leon wrote:That is correct I believe.

The mistake I have seen people make is retrieving on guards, going to handsize, discarding a card and going to handsize again.
That's exactly what i see sometimes here :wink: But it's wrong ...

mm75
"In front of such powers and strengths, it seems a very little thing the story of some common humans, but really some of them were able to change and fight this world's fate".
(taken from "Shara") Marco Fregonari
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”