Site phase sequence

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Jose-san
Council Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Site phase sequence

Post by Jose-san » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:44 am

METW Rulebook, BRIEF PLAYER TURN SUMMARY wrote:Site Phase – One at a time, each of your companies may take the following actions at its current, untapped site. The company decides to enter and explore the site. First, if the site has an automatic-attack, it
attacks the company. Then, the company may attempt to play one item, ally, faction, or information
resource card that is “playable” at that site. A character in the company must tap to make this attempt.
If the card is successfully played, tap the site
I read it as only companies at an untapped site can do anything.
METW Rulebook wrote:9 · INFLUENCE
Influence is the only way that your characters can directly affect your opponent’s resources. During
your site phase
, one and only one of your characters may tap to attempt to influence away one of your
opponent’s characters, followers, allies, factions, or items. This may only take place if the influencing
character and the target of the influence are at the same site. If you successfully influence the target, it is
discarded. In some cases, you may reveal an identical card and attempt to play it (i.e., he convinces the
target to join his side).
Such an influence attempt may not be made on the first turn, and a Wizard may not make such an
attempt on the turn he is revealed.
Bold is mine. There is no reference to the end of the site phase.
METW Rulebook, FULL PLAYER TURN SUMMARY wrote:Site Phase
In the order you decide (i.e., you decide which goes first, second, etc.), each of your companies at an
untapped
site may:
• do nothing or
• follow this procedure:
1) You decide to enter and explore the site.
2) If the site has an automatic-attack, it attacks the company. The attack is resolved
normally (see pages 17-21).
3) The company may attempt to play one item, ally, faction, or information resource
card that is “playable” at that site. Generally, this will involve tapping the character
that will control the card played. If the resource card is successfully played, the site
card is tapped and one additional character may tap to play a minor item. Certain
resource cards other than items, allies, factions, and information will state the
conditions under which they may be played. Such cards may be played at tapped and
untapped sites, and do not tap a site when played (e.g., Return of the King, Lucky
Search, etc.).
Standard Rules Only: One of your characters or your Wizard may attempt to influence away one of
your opponent’s characters, followers, allies, factions, or items (if it is at the same site).
It seems that the last paragraph is out of the procedure. Again, I read it as only companies at an untapped site can do anything because they can't start the procedure. Do MELE Rules supersede this?
MELE Rulebook, BRIEF PLAYER TURN SUMMARY wrote:Site Phase – You may have each of your companies enter its current site to attempt to play an item, ally, faction, etc.
Here it doesn't say anything about untapped sites.
MELE Rulebook wrote:9 · INFLUENCE
Influence is the only way that your characters can directly affect your Ringwraith opponent’s
resources. During your site phase, one and only one of your characters may tap to attempt to influence
away one of your opponent’s characters, followers, allies, factions, or items. This may only take place if the
influencing character and the target of the influence are at the same site. If you successfully influence the
target, it is discarded. In some cases, you may reveal an identical card and attempt to play it (i.e., he
convinces the target to join his side).
Such an influence attempt may not be made on the first turn, and your Ringwraith may not make such
an attempt on the turn he is revealed.
There is no reference to the end of the site phase.
MELE Rulebook wrote:COMPANY VS. COMPANY COMBAT
During your site phase, one of your companies may attack one of your opponent’s companies if the
following conditions are met:
• Both companies are at the same site.
• Your company has faced the automatic-attack (if any).
• You have not already made an influence attempt against your opponent this turn.
This attack is declared and enacted at the end of the site phase following all other actions your
company takes during the site phase.
Explicit reference to the end of the site phase. Can another company do more things during the site phase or CvCC ends the site phase for all companies?
MELE Rulebook, FULL PLAYER TURN SUMMARY wrote:Site Phase
In the order you decide (i.e., you decide which goes first, second, etc.), each of your companies
may:
• do nothing or
• follow this procedure:
1) Enter its site.
2) If the site has an automatic-attack, it attacks the company. The attack is resolved
normally (see pages 16-20).
3) If the site is untapped, a character in the company may attempt to play an item, ally,
or faction that is “playable” at that site. Tap the character and the site. Certain
resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playable during the site phase
and state the conditions under which they may be played. Such a card only requires
an untapped site if it states that the site taps when played. If a tapped site should
become untapped, an additional resource may be played that taps the site. Anytime a
resource card is played that taps the site, one additional character may tap to play a
minor item.
4) Standard Rules Only: One of your characters or your Ringwraith may attempt to
influence away one of your opponent’s characters, followers, allies, factions, or
items (if it is at the same site). See pages 37-9. OR
5) Against Wizard Player Only: One of your companies may make an attack against
one of your opponent’s companies (if it is at the same site).
Here it doesn't require an untapped site to start the procedure. Does 4) strictly happen after 3)? As far as I can tell, this is the only place in the rules that suggest such a thing.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2067
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Site phase sequence

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Jose-san wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:44 am
MELE Rulebook wrote:
COMPANY VS. COMPANY COMBAT
During your site phase, one of your companies may attack one of your opponent’s companies if the
following conditions are met:
• Both companies are at the same site.
• Your company has faced the automatic-attack (if any).
• You have not already made an influence attempt against your opponent this turn.
This attack is declared and enacted at the end of the site phase following all other actions your
company takes during the site phase.

Explicit reference to the end of the site phase. Can another company do more things during the site phase or CvCC ends the site phase for all companies?
1. Phrase "the site phase" is ambiguous, but when the rules says about "an influence attempt against your opponent" it says "this turn", not "the site phase".
If "the site phase" would mean "player's site phase", not "the company's site phase" then the rule could say " You have not already made an influence attempt against your opponent the site phase".
2.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Turn Sequence, Influence Attempts" wrote:You may only make one influence attempt against your opponent's resources during
each turn.
but there is no limit of number of CvCCs per turn.

So another company may do more things during the player's site phase after previous company performed CvCC.
Jose-san wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:44 am
Does 4) strictly happen after 3)?
Yes. If (4) could happen before (3), then (3) could happen before (2) as well.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2653
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Site phase sequence

Post by Bandobras Took » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:19 pm

As for the difference between the METW and MELE rules:
Using MELE with METW wrote:Note: Unless stated otherwise, the Wizard player uses the METW rules and the Ringwraith player uses the MELE rules. Most elements of METW and MELE are identical - both of these series are part of the Middle-earth Collectible Card Game™ (MECCG™). Should a discrepancy arise between an aspect of the MELE and the METW rules, the MELE rules takes precedence as they were written with refinements in language and organization.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”