Noble Hound <-> Assassin

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

One of my characters having a noble hound is attacked by an assassin.
Opponent keys the assassin to the character, but instead, the hound has to face at first the first attack. Hound is eliminated from the first attack, what happens with the remaining 2? Do they go for the character, to which they were originally keyed or do they fail?

Many thanks
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Strikes from all three attacks mus be assigned to the same character, so strikes from second and third attack are never assigned (likewise strikes from attacks created by Lucky Search, Forgotten Scrolls, Lost Tome - that are automatically assigned).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
charles jenkins
Ex Council Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

So if Thorin controls a Noble Hound and lucky searches for Wormsbane, he gets to keep the sword regardless of the outcome of the hound vs. lucky search attack?
"I say to you againe, doe not call up Any you cannot put downe"
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

charles jenkins wrote:So if Thorin controls a Noble Hound and lucky searches for Wormsbane, he gets to keep the sword regardless of the outcome of the hound vs. lucky search attack?
Such situation cannot happen. Strike from LS is never assigned (i.e. this stage of resolving attack is skipped), because strike is already assigned to the target scout. And this assignation it cannot be changed be Noble Hound nor anything.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Assigning a strike is part of an attack. It is not a process inherent to the strike itself, because cards that modify a strike's assignment must take effect before you resolve the strike.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”